NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there a national general post-secondary students association? Does it do any disability-related advocacy work?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Non-Governmental Organizations

Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC)

This organization, started in the early 1980s, observes the Independent Living philosophy, recognizing people with disabilities’ right to make their own decisions, and to be active members of their communities. The work of CAILC seeks to change the environment to meet the needs of people with disabilities, and not vice-versa.

CAILC is the national umbrella organization of Canadian local, autonomous independent living centres, which are run by and for people with disabilities. The centres offer information and referral services, peer support, and skills development, which can be of particular benefit to students with disabilities making the move into new cities for postsecondary education.

The national group’s Web site is full of useful information on how Independent Living can be helpful for people with disabilities. There is also contact information listed for the local independent living centres located across the country.

Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC)
1104-170 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, ON K1P 5V5
Tel: (613) 563-2581
Fax: 613-563-3861
TTY: 613-563-4215
Email: info@cailc.ca
Web site: www.cailc.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’une aide financière est offerte pour payer la production de documents en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Aller de l'avant

Organisations non gouvernementales

Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA)

Cette organisation, fondée au début des années 1980, fait promotion de la philosophie " vie autonome " en reconnaissant le droit des personnes handicapées de prendre leurs propres décisions et d'être des membres actifs au sein de leur communauté. L'ACCVA vise à changer l'environnement pour répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées et non l'inverse.

L'ACCVA est une organisation nationale regroupant des centres locaux de vie autonome indépendants qui sont gérés par et pour des personnes handicapées. Ces centres offrent de l'information et des services d'aiguillage, de soutien par des pairs et de formation des compétences qui peuvent être bénéfiques aux étudiant-e-s handicapés qui doivent déménager dans une nouvelle ville pour leurs études postsecondaires.

Le site Web de l'organisation nationale qui contient une mine d'information sur les principes de la vie autonome qui peuvent être utiles aux personnes handicapées. On y trouve également une liste d'adresse des centres locaux de vie autonome de l'ensemble du pays.

Pour plus d'information :

Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA)
1104-170 avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa, ON K1P 5V5
Tél. : (613) 563-2581
Téléc. : (613) 613-563-3861
ATS: (613) 563-4215
Courriel : info@cailc.ca
Site Web : www.accva.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.