NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Student Success Stories

Photo of Corey Walker



"Get to know
your professors
early. That way,
if you have a
situation where
you need to ask
for an extension,
it’s not coming
out of the blue."

Corey Walker

Corey Walker has big goals for himself, and he doesn’t intend to let his disabilities get in the way.

Corey, who has a visual-perceptual disorder, Tourette’s Syndrome, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, and ADHD, is hoping to graduate this year from the University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC) with a bachelor’s degree in English and history. Corey admits his disabilities have made his post-secondary career a challenge. He is completing his four-year degree in six years because he “burned out” for a while, in part because of the new skills and new environment he had to get used to when he started university.

Corey attended a small high school, where he knew all his teachers, and they knew his needs. Additionally, he managed to remain a very well organized person throughout high school. But he says that all fell apart when he got to university. While the UNBC is a small school compared to other Canadian universities, Corey still had to make an effort to get to know his professors. In addition, he had to learn new time management skills, and to take effective notes from lectures despite the fact he’s not an oral learner. The strain made for a difficult first few months.

“I had to learn to adapt to basically a whole new education system, and a whole new way of school,” he says. “Then there was the added challenge of having to contact disability providers, and talking to professors about my accommodations.”

Rather than letting it get to him, Corey tried a variety of things to better prepare himself for the rigors of university. He wrote all due dates in a daybook, and drew up timelines to stick to for assignments. He says sometimes those tactics worked, and other times they weren’t as effective for him. He used a quiet room at the disability service centre on campus to work on assignments, and frequently changed his study environments to avoid getting restless by being in one place too long. He also participated in a session being offered on how to succeed in university as a student with disabilities. Ultimately, Corey’s methods have proven effective in allowing him to succeed.

He attributes a large part of his success to his ability to advocate for his own needs. Because the UNBC is a small school, he says, there is only one disability service provider. While she does a great job, she isn’t always available to help right when he needs it. Corey has learned to combat this problem by talking to his professors early in the semester, and bringing them letters from the disability services office outlining his accommodation needs. “Get to know your professors early,” he advises. “That way, if you have a situation where you need to ask for an extension, it’s not coming out of the blue.”

Once Corey has completed his bachelor’s degree, he hopes to move on to teacher’s college, and teach for a couple of years. From there, he intends to get his Master’s degree in his first love – theatre.

“Be prepared for a shock,” Corey warns first-year post-secondary students. “Realize your first year is going to be a transition year and will take some adjusting. But also know that you will eventually get used to it.”




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À qui dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur l’aide financière disponible pour payer mes études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Aller de l'avant

Exemples de réussites étudiantes

Photo of Corey Walker



"Il est préférable
d'apprendre à
connaître vos
professeur-e-s dès
le début des cours.
De cette façon, si
vous avez besoin
de demander une
prolongation, vos
professeur-e-s ne
seront pas surpris."

Corey Walker

Corey Walker a de grands objectifs personnels et il n'a pas l'intention que sa déficience l'empêche de les atteindre.

Corey, qui présente un trouble de perception visuelle, un syndrome de Tourette, un trouble obsessionnel compulsif et un THADA, espère terminer cette année ses études à l'University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC) avec un baccalauréat en anglais et en histoire. Corey admet que ses déficiences ont fait en sorte que ses études postsecondaires représentaient tout un défi. Il lui aura fallu six ans pour terminer son programme d'études de quatre ans, du fait " qu'il s'était épuisé ", et partiellement en raison des nouvelles techniques et du nouvel environnement auxquels il a dû s'adapter lorsqu'il a commencé ses études.

Corey a fréquenté une petite école secondaire où il connaissait tous ses professeur-e-s qui étaient au courant de ses besoins. De plus, il a su demeurer une personne très organisée tout au cours du cycle secondaire. Il mentionne cependant que tout cela s'est effondré lorsqu'il est entré à l'université. Même si l'UNBC est un petit établissement en comparaison à d'autres universités canadiennes, Corey a tout de même eu à faire des efforts pour connaître ses professeur-e-s, pour apprendre de nouvelles techniques de gestion de son temps et de prise de notes efficace durant les cours, malgré le fait qu'il n'apprend pas facilement pendant les cours magistraux. La tension a fait en sorte que les premiers mois d'études ont été difficiles. " J'ai eu à apprendre à m'adapter à pratiquement un tout nouveau système d'éducation et une nouvelle façon d'étudier, ajoute-t-il. Il a fallu aussi faire le contact avec les dispensateurs et dispensatrices de services et parler avec les professeur-e-s au sujet des aménagements nécessaires. "

Plutôt que de baisser les bras, Corey a appliqué diverses moyens pour mieux se préparer aux rigueurs de la vie universitaire. Il a inscrit toutes les dates de remise de travaux dans son agenda et s'est établi des échéanciers pour y arriver. Il dit que parfois ces tactiques fonctionnaient, mais à d'autres moments elles n'étaient pas efficaces pour lui. Il est allé étudier dans une salle d'étude des services aux étudiant-e-s handicapés du campus pour faire ses travaux et se déplaçait fréquemment d'un lieu d'étude à un autre pour changer son environnement. Il a également participé à une séance de formation pour apprendre à réussir dans le milieu universitaire pour un étudiant handicapé. En bout de ligne, les méthodes de Corey lui ont permis de réussir ses études.

Il attribue une bonne part de son succès à sa capacité de défendre ses propres besoins. Du fait que l'UNBC est un petit établissement, il n'y a qu'une seule dispensatrice de services. Même si elle fait du bon travail, elle n'est pas toujours disponible au moment où il aurait besoin de ces services. Corey a appris à dépasser ce problème en parlant avec ses professeur-e-s au début de la session et en leur apportant des lettres des services aux étudiant-e-s handicapés décrivant les aménagements dont il avait besoin. " Il est préférable d'apprendre à connaître vos professeur-e-s dès le début des cours, " conseille-t-il. " De cette façon, si vous avez besoin de demander une prolongation, vos professeur-e-s ne seront pas surpris. "

Une fois qu'il aura terminé son baccalauréat, Corey espère devenir professeur pendant quelques années. Il vise par la suite à obtenir sa maîtrise en théâtre, sa première passion.

Corey alerte les étudiant-e-s de première année " Préparez-vous à un choc. Considérez que votre première année est une année de transition et que vous aurez à vous ajuster. Sachez cependant qu'avec le temps vous finirez par vous habituer. "




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.