NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Transition Programs for Students with Disabilities

DO-IT Scholars Program

Part of the DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking and Technology) initiative offered through the University of Washington, the DO-IT Scholars Program is intended to prepare high school students with disabilities for post-secondary level study and career opportunities.

The program is offered over approximately 10 days in late summer. Students are given a chance to experience life on a university campus. They attend sessions informing them about reasonable accommodations at post-secondary school and in the workplace, adaptive technologies, and career paths and the world of work. More importantly, the program offers students the chance to network with their peers and professionals

Preference is given to high school students in Washington state, but Canadians have been accepted in the past. Preference is also given to applications forwarded by January 10, although students will be accepted

Application forms are available on the Web site. Applications must include: a completed application form; recommendation from a high school teacher or administrator (form available on Web site); a grade report for the past two years; a parent or guardian’s recommendation and consent (form available on Web site). For more information contact:

DO-IT
University of Washington
Box 355670
Seattle, Washington, 98195-5670
USA
Tel: (206) 685-DOIT (Voice/TTY)
Fax: (206) 221-4171
Email: doit@uwashington.edu
Web site: www.washington.edu/doit


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Aller de l'avant

Programmes de transition pour les étudiant-e-s- handicapés

Le programme DO-IT Scholars Program

Un volet de l'initiative DO-IT (Disabilities,Opportunities,Internetworking and Technology) dispensé par le biais de l'University of Washington, le DO?IT Scholars Program vise à préparer les étudiant-e-s handicapés du cycle secondaire aux études postsecondaires et aux perspectives de carrière. Le programme dure environ 10 jours et est offert vers la fin de l'été.

Les étudiant-e-s ont l'occasion de vivre dans un campus. Ils et elles assistent à des séances d'information sur les diverses possibilités d'aménagement dans les établissements postsecondaires et dans les lieux de travail, sur les technologies d'adaptation, le cheminement de carrière et le monde du travail. Ce programme offre surtout aux étudiant-e-s la chance d'échanger avec leurs pairs et des professionnel-le-s ayant une déficience.

La préférence est accordée aux étudiant-e-s de cycle secondaire de l'État de Washington, mais des Canadien-ne-s ont déjà été acceptés antérieurement. On accorde également la préférence aux demandes acheminées avant le 10 janvier de chaque année, bien que des étudiant-e-s puissent être acceptés tant que les places ne sont pas toutes comblées.

Le formulaire de demande est disponible sur le site Web. La demande doit être accompagnée des documents suivants : un formulaire de demande dûment rempli, une recommandation d'un professeur-e ou administrateur?trice d'une école secondaire (formulaire disponible sur le site Web); les relevés de notes des deux dernières années d'études; la recommandation et le consentement d'un parent ou d'un tuteur ou d'une tutrice (formulaire disponible sur le site Web).

Pour plus d'information :

DO-IT
University of Washington
Box 355670
Seattle, Washington, 98195-5670
Voix/ATS : (206) 685-DOIT (3648)
Téléc. : (206) 221-4171
Courriel : doit@uwashington.edu
Site Web : www.washington.edu/


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.