NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS Announces Recipients of the 2018 NEADS National Student Awards and AMI Scholarship Programs!

(Ottawa, December 12, 2018) – The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), and our generous funding partners: Industrial Alliance Financial Group and private donors, are excited to announce the three outstanding winners of the 2018 NEADS Students Awards Program, including the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award and the NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award in support of the recipients post-secondary tuition and student fees. The academic programs of the recipients listed below represent the programs of study in progress at the time of application. We are also thrilled to announce recipients of the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship Program. AMI previously announced the winners of its 2018 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship program on November 26th, 2018. NEADS manages the AMI Scholarships in a partnership with AMI.

NEADS Student Awards Recipient ($3,000)

Jessica Romeo, Specialized Honours Visual Arts, York University

NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award Recipient ($1,000)

Morgan Lawrence, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba
 
NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award Recipient ($1,000)

Megan Linton, International and Development Studies, University of Winnipeg

Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) Recipients ($5,000)
 
Laura Lefevre, Masters of Arts Candidate, Interdisciplinary Studies, Royal Roads University (English)

Elisanne Pellerin, Political Science, Université du Québec à Montréal (French)

"A huge congratulations to this year’s award recipients,” says Lauren Gravis, Director of the NEADS Student Awards Program. "We received over 400 applications for the 2018 program. The high amount of outstanding applications made choosing the recipients very difficult. The recipients are no doubt exemplary in what it means to address barriers and self-advocate for themselves in a way that is really transformative for themselves and others. This is paired with the strong commitment to make a difference in their respective universities and communities. We are proud of their astonishing accomplishments and hope these awards will make a significant impact in advancing their academic and career goals”
 
"Being a disabled student, not only am I expected to maintain my workload, I am also required to advocate for my rights, access to education, proper medical care, and dismantling ableism on campus,” says Megan. “This award will help me continue to work towards my goals of making policy that centres the experiences of disabled and mentally ill folks. I hope to use this award to continue my educational pursuits, and advocating for a future that is accessible for everyone."

“I am extremely grateful to be a recipient of the Holly Barlett Award,” says Morgan. “As the recipient of this award I am able to continue studies with my focus on legal reform and developments in the field of criminal law”.

Jessica Romeo says: "I would like to start off by saying that I am very thankful and honoured to have been a recipient of the 2018 NEADS Student Awards. This award will help me tremendously towards the cost of my tuition so I can focus on my academic success and expand my professional knowledge in the artistic field."

“Congratulations to our 2018 scholarship winners! I am very excited that our association can aid students in being successful in their academic pursuits. And I’m proud that we’ve provided over $280,000 in awards to more than 100 deserving disabled students across Canada in the 12 years since we launched the NEADS Student Awards programs," says Roxana Jahani Aval, Chair of NEADS.

About the NEADS Student Awards:
 
The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education, as well as extra costs because of their disabilities. Students must currently be registered in and continuing at post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award. The award is offered to outstanding applicants who meet the criteria of the program. The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students’ accounts) that the recipients are attending to defray the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.

About the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award:
 
The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award was established by the NEADS board of directors after the passing of Holly in 2010. Holly Bartlett served on the NEADS Board of Directors as the association’s Nova Scotia Director for a number of years. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a tribute to Holly. The scholarship assists students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the eighth year for the Award in Holly's memory.
 
About the Christine Nieder Memorial Award:
 
The Christine Nieder Memorial Award was established in 2015 to commemorate the life and contributions of Ms. Christine Nieder, NEADS Board member, who passed away in July 2014. The award will be offered to a graduate student with a disability in the amount of $1,000 in recognition of Christine’s passionate work to address barriers faced to participation in graduate programs of study.
 
About the AMI Scholarship Program:
 
Information and eligibility requirements for the 2019 AMI Scholarship program will be posted on the AMI websites later this month. Visit www.AMI.ca/scholarship  and www.AMItele.ca/bourses  for complete details.
 
About Accessible Media (AMI) Inc.
 
AMI is a not-for-profit media company that entertains, informs and empowers Canadians who are blind or partially sighted. Operating three broadcast services, AMI-tv and AMI-audio in English and AMI-télé in French, AMI’s vision is to establish and support a voice for Canadians with disabilities, representing their interests, concerns and values through accessible media, reflection and portrayal. To learn more visit AMI.ca and AMItele.ca.

For more information, please contact: Janis Davidson Pressick, Communications Manager 800-567-6755 ext. 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca
Look for an announcement of intake of applications for all NEADS Awards Programs and the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship early in 2019 on the NEADS website: www.neads.ca
 
-30-
 
For further information contact:
 
Frank Smith, National Coordinator National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) Rm. 514 Unicentre, Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201 frank.smith@neads.ca www.neads.ca
"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"
 
 
 
 





Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2019, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Comment puis je savoir quel collège ou quelle université offre un accès physique adéquat aux salles de cours et aux autres installations?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS annonce les récipiendaires des bourses d’études 2018 des programmes de bourses nationaux de NEADS et d’AMI !

(Ottawa, le 12 décembre 2018) — L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) et ses généreux partenaires financiers : Assurances Industrielle Alliance et Services Financiers, ainsi que des donateurs privés, sont ravis d’annoncer les noms des trois remarquables lauréats du Programme de bourses d’études 2018 de NEADS, dont la bourse d’études commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS et la bourse d’études commémorative Christine Nieder de NEADS pour les frais de scolarité postsecondaires et des frais d’études des récipiendaires. Les programmes d’étude des récipiendaires énumérés ci-dessous représentent les programmes d’études en cours au moment de la demande. Nous sommes également ravis d’annoncer les récipiendaires du Programme de bourses d’études commémoratives Robert Pearson de l’AMI. L’AMI a déjà annoncé le nom des lauréats de son programme de bourses d’études commémoratives AMI Robert Pearson 2018 le 26 novembre 2018. NEADS gère les bourses d’études de l’AMI en partenariat avec eux.

Lauréate de la bourse d’études NEADS (3000 $)

Jessica Romeo, baccalauréat spécialisé avec distinction en arts visuels, York University

Lauréate de la bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS (1000 $)

Morgan Lawrence, faculté de droit, University of Manitoba
 
Lauréate de la bourse commémorative Christine Nieder de NEADS (1000 $)

Megan Linton, études internationales et du développement, University of Winnipeg

Lauréates de la bourse d’études Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) (5000 $)

Laura Lefevre, candidate à la maîtrise ès arts, études interdisciplinaires, Royal Roads University (anglais)

Elisanne Pellerin, science politique, Université du Québec à Montréal (français)

« Toutes nos félicitations aux récipiendaires de cette année, » a dit Lauren Gravis, directrice du Programme de bourses d’études de NEADS. « Nous avons reçu plus de 400 demandes pour le programme de 2018. Le nombre élevé d’excellentes demandes a rendu le choix des récipiendaires très difficile. Les récipiendaires sont sans aucun doute des modèles exemplaires pour ce qui est d’affronter les obstacles et de défendre leurs droits d’une manière qui est vraiment transformatrice pour eux-mêmes et pour les autres. De plus, ils font preuve d’un engagement ferme à faire une différence dans leurs universités et leurs communautés respectives. Nous sommes fiers de leurs réalisations impressionnantes et nous espérons que ces bourses auront un impact significatif sur l’avancement de leurs objectifs académiques et professionnels. »
 
« En tant qu’étudiante en situation de handicap, on s’attend de moi non seulement à ce que je gère la même charge de travail que les étudiant(e)s sans handicap, mais aussi à ce que je défende mes droits, milite pour l’accès à l’éducation, aux soins médicaux appropriés et pour mette fin au capacitisme sur le campus, » dit Megan. « Cette bourse m’aidera à continuer de travailler à l’atteinte de mes objectifs qui consistent à élaborer des politiques centrées sur l’expérience des personnes handicapées. J’espère utiliser cette bourse pour poursuivre mes études et pour plaider en faveur d’un avenir accessible pour tous. »

« Je suis extrêmement reconnaissante d’avoir reçu la bourse Holly Barlett, » dit Morgan. « En tant que récipiendaire de ce prix, je suis en mesure de poursuivre mes études en me concentrant sur la réforme juridique et les développements dans le domaine du droit pénal. »

Jessica Romeo dit : « J’aimerais tout d’abord dire que je suis très reconnaissante et honorée d’avoir été récipiendaire d’une bourse d’études 2018 de NEADS. Cette bourse m’aidera énormément à payer mes frais de scolarité afin que je puisse me concentrer sur ma réussite scolaire et à élargir mes connaissances professionnelles dans le domaine artistique. »

« Félicitations à nos lauréats de 2018 ! Je suis très heureuse que notre association puisse aider les étudiants à réussir dans leurs études. Et je suis fière que nous ayons versé plus de 280 000 $ en bourses à plus de 100 étudiants et étudiantes en situation de handicap méritants partout au Canada au cours des 12 années qui se sont écoulées depuis le lancement des programmes de bourses d’études de NEADS, » a déclaré Roxana Jahani Aval, présidente de NEADS.

À propos des bourses d’études de NEADS : 

Le Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS est offert pour encourager l’accès complet aux études postsecondaires aux personnes en situation de handicap, qui font souvent face à de plus grands obstacles à participer aux études supérieures, ainsi qu’à des coûts supplémentaires engendrés par leur handicap. Les étudiants doivent être actuellement inscrits dans un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire, poursuivre leurs études et fournir une preuve d’inscription documentée avec la demande et à la réception de la bourse. La bourse est offerte aux candidats exceptionnels qui satisfont aux critères du programme. Les bourses sont versées directement à l’établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire (dans le compte des étudiants) que les lauréats fréquentent pour couvrir le coût des frais de scolarité pour les études postsecondaires.

À propos de la bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS : 

La bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett a été créée par le conseil d’administration de NEADS après le décès d’Holly en 2010. Holly Bartlett a siégé au conseil d’administration de NEADS à titre de directrice de l’association pour la Nouvelle-Écosse pendant plusieurs années. Les réalisations d’Holly, au courant d’une vie beaucoup trop courte, furent phénoménales. La bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett est un hommage à Holly. La bourse aide les étudiants en situation de handicap à réussir leurs études postsecondaires. C’est la huitième année que la bourse est décernée à la mémoire d’Holly.
 
À propos de la bourse commémorative Christine Nieder :

La bourse commémorative Christine Nieder a été créée en 2015 pour commémorer la vie et les contributions de Madame Christine Nieder, membre du conseil d’administration de NEADS, décédée en juillet 2014. La bourse de 1000 $ sera offerte à un(e) étudiant(e) en situation de handicap aux cycles supérieurs en reconnaissance du travail passionné de Christine visant à surmonter les obstacles à la participation aux programmes d’études supérieures.

À propos du Programme de bourses AMI : 

Les renseignements et les critères d’admissibilité pour le programme de bourses AMI 2019 seront affichés sur les sites Web de l’AMI plus tard ce mois-ci. Visitez www.AMI.ca/scholarship et www.AMItele.ca/bourses  pour plus de détails.

À propos d’Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) 

AMI est une entreprise de médias sans but lucratif qui divertit, informe et autonomise les Canadiens aveugles ou partiellement voyants. Exploitant trois services de radiodiffusion, AMI-tv et AMI-audio en anglais et AMI-télé en français, la vision d’AMI est d’établir et de soutenir une voix pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes en situation de handicap, en représentant leurs intérêts, leurs préoccupations et leurs valeurs par le biais de médias accessibles, de la réflexion et de la représentation. Pour en savoir plus, visitez AMI.ca et AMItele.ca

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec : Janis Davidson Pressick, Directrice des communications, au 800-567-6755, poste 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca
Vous trouverez l’appel à candidatures pour tous les programmes de bourses de NEADS et pour la bourse commémorative Robert Pearson de l’AMI au début de 2019 sur le site Web de NEADS : www.neads.ca


-30-
 
Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter :

 
Frank Smith, Coordonnateur national
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)
Local 514, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6
Tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201 frank.smith@neads.ca
www.neads.ca/fr/
« Soutenir l’accès à l’éducation postsecondaire et à l’emploi pour les étudiant(e)s en situation de handicap. »







Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2019, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.