NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Can the guidance counsellor at my high school help me choose a college or university that will accommodate my disability and still have the quality of programs in the field I wish to pursue?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Minister Monsef establishes new Advisory Committee to support efforts to end gender-based violence at post-secondary institutions

Members will develop a framework and lead discussion to further guide federal action across Canada

January 16, 2019 – Montréal, QC – Department for Women and Gender Equality -

No one should be subject to acts of violence—period. However, incidents of sexual assault on school, college, and university campuses remain one of the most often reported types of violence since #MeToo. Additionally, nearly half of all sexual assaults are committed against women aged 15 to 24.

To help address this critical issue, the Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister for Women and Gender Equality, met with the newly established Advisory Committee on the Framework to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence at Post-Secondary Institutions. Chaired by the Department for Women and Gender Equality, the Advisory Committee will provide advice and expertise on the development, consultation and implementation of the framework. Members include representatives from student groups, colleges and universities, unions, community organizations, survivor advocates, and front-line service workers. Together, alongside key drafters Farrah Khan and CJ Rowe and a team of student experts from Possibility Seeds Consulting, they will provide guidance on a framework and support initial consultations before a final document is submitted this spring. The framework, in turn, will act as a comprehensive resource for post-secondary institutions to help guide actions in preventing and addressing gender-based violence.

Budget 2018 announced $5.5. million in funding to the Department for Women and Gender Equality’s to work with a variety of stakeholders, including provincial and territorial governments, towards ending gender-based violence at post-secondary institutions across Canada. The Advisory Committee is a direct result of this investment, and will complement actions under the first-ever federal Strategy to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence.
Quotes

    “Going off to college or university is a significant time in our lives. Parents and students alike plan for this important milestone, expecting personal growth and professional opportunities in return for their significant investments. Currently, there is no national framework to prevent something no parent or student should experience. Despite the work done to date, the staggering rates of sexual violence on Canadian campuses remain. That's why our government is working with an advisory council of survivors, students and partners across the country to ensure the safety of Canada's youth while they complete their studies.”

    The Honourable Maryam Monsef, P.C., M.P.
    Minister for Women and Gender Equality

Quick facts

    Today, only 28 per cent of Canadians fully understand what constitutes sexual consent (down from 33 per cent in 2015).[1]

    Of all sexual assault incidents reported in Canada, nearly half (47 per cent) were committed against women aged 15 to 24, and 41 per cent of all sexual assaults across Canada were reported by students.[2]

    Reported incidents of sexual assault saw considerable increases after #MeToo went viral in October 2017, with sexual assaults on school, college, or university property nearly doubling (+87%) compared with the average number reported per quarter before #MeToo (439 versus 235 incidents).[3]

Related products

    Backgrounder
    It’s Time: Canada’s Strategy to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence

Contacts

Braeson Holland
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister for Women and Gender Equality
343-549-8825

Valérie Haché
Communications Officer
Department for Women and Gender Equality
819-420-8684

https://www.canada.ca/en/status-women/news/2019/01/minster-monsef-establishes-new-advisory-committee-to-support-efforts-to-end-gender-based-violence-at-post-secondary-institutions.html




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2019, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une organisation qui représente tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ayant des déficiences?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Média

La ministre Monsef met sur pied un nouveau comité consultatif pour appuyer les efforts visant à mettre fin à la violence fondée sur le sexe dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Communiqué de presse

Les membres élaboreront un cadre et dirigeront la discussion afin d’orienter davantage les mesures du gouvernement fédéral partout au Canada

Le 16 janvier 2019 – Montréal (Québec) – ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres -

Personne ne devrait être victime d’un acte de violence, un point c’est tout. Toutefois, les incidents d’agression sexuelle dans les écoles et sur les campus d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire demeurent l’un des types de violence les plus souvent signalés depuis le mouvement #MoiAussi. De plus, près de la moitié de toutes les agressions sexuelles sont commises à l’endroit des femmes âgées de 15 à 24 ans.

Pour s’attaquer à ce problème crucial, l’honorable Maryam Monsef, ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres, a rencontré les membres du nouveau Comité consultatif sur le Cadre pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire. Présidé par le ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres, le Comité consultatif fournira des conseils et de l’expertise et tiendra des consultations sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du cadre. Le Comité comprendra des représentantes et représentants d’associations étudiantes, de collèges et d’universités, de syndicats, d’organismes communautaires, de groupes de défense des personnes survivantes ainsi que des travailleuses et travailleurs de première ligne. Ensemble, aux côtés des rédacteurs, Farrah Khan et CJ Rowe, ainsi qu’une équipe d’étudiantes et d’étudiants spécialistes de Possibility Seeds Consulting, ils offriront une orientation sur un cadre et appuieront les consultations initiales avant la présentation d’une version définitive du document au printemps. Le cadre servira ainsi de ressource complète pour aider les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire à établir des mesures visant à prévenir et à contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe.

Le budget de 2018 annonçait l’octroi de 5,5 millions de dollars au ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres pour qu'il collabore avec diverses parties prenantes, y compris les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, pour mettre fin à la violence fondée sur le sexe dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire partout au Canada. Le Comité consultatif est le résultat direct de cet investissement et s’ajoute aux mesures prises dans le cadre de la toute première Stratégie fédérale pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe.
Citations

    Aller au collège ou à l’université est un moment important de notre vie. Les parents et les étudiants planifient cette étape importante en s’attendant à une croissance personnelle et à des possibilités professionnelles en retour de leurs investissements importants. À l’heure actuelle, il n’y a pas de cadre national pour empêcher quelque chose qu’aucun parent, étudiante ou étudiant ne devrait vivre. Malgré le travail accompli jusqu’à maintenant, les taux de violence sexuelle sur les campus canadiens demeurent effarants. C’est pourquoi notre gouvernement travaille avec un conseil consultatif composé de personnes survivantes, d’étudiantes et d’étudiants, et de partenaires de partout au pays pour assurer la sécurité des jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens pendant leurs études. »

    L’honorable Maryam Monsef, C.P., députée
    Ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres

Faits en bref

    Aujourd’hui, seulement 28 % des Canadiennes et Canadiens comprennent bien ce qu’est le consentement sexuel (une baisse par rapport à 33 % en 2015)[1].

    Près de la moitié, soit 47 %, de tous les incidents d’agression sexuelle signalés au Canada ont été commis contre des femmes de 15 à 24 ans et 41 % de ces incidents ont été signalés par des étudiantes et étudiants[2].

    Le nombre de signalements d’agressions sexuelles a connu une augmentation considérable après la croissance virale du mouvement #MoiAussi en octobre 2017. Le nombre de signalements d’agressions sexuelles survenues sur les terrains d’école, de collèges ou d’universités a presque doublé (+87 %) comparé au nombre moyen d’agressions sexuelles déclarées par trimestre avant le mouvement #MoiAussi, soit 439 incidents comparés à 235 incidents.[3]

Produits connexes

    Document d’information
    Il est temps : la Stratégie du Canada pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe

Personnes-ressources

Braeson Holland
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de la ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres
343-549-8825

Valérie Haché
Agente des communications
Ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres
819-420-8684

https://www.canada.ca/fr/condition-feminine/nouvelles/2019/01/la-ministre-monsef-met-sur-pied-un-nouveau-comite-consultatif-pour-appuyer-les-efforts-visant-a-mettre-fin-a-la-violence-fondee-sur-le-sexe-dans-le.html

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2019, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.