Media

Media Release COVID-19 Response Needs to Be Approached with a Disability Lens

For Immediate Release | March 20, 2020
 
The Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) reminds all levels of government, community organizations and businesses responding to the COVID-19 crisis that all planning needs to be done using a human and disability rights lens to ensure that our country’s response does not leave anyone behind.
 
When Canada ratified the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), it made a commitment to meet the standard set out in Article 25 (Health), which requires that, “…States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to ensure access for persons with disabilities to health services that are gender-sensitive, including health-related rehabilitation. In particular, States Parties shall: a) Provide persons with disabilities with the same range, quality and standard of free or affordable health care and programmes as provided to other persons, …”
 
CCD encourages decision makers to follow the principles of universal design so that people with the widest range of human abilities can make use of the community resources developed to respond to COVID-19.  “Testing sites should be physically accessible and conveniently located on public transit routes,” states John Rae, CCD 2nd Vice Chair.  “Updated public health information in plain language should be available on accessible websites so that all Canadians can easily understand this critical information,” continues Rae.
 
“While we understand the need for social distancing, we also know that it is important for people with disabilities in extended care facilities to keep connected to their personal support networks which can be an important safety net that keeps people safe from abuse,” states John Rae 2nd Vice Chair.  “We echo the comments of Catalina Davandas the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities who has stated, ‘Restrictions should be narrowly tailored, and use the least intrusive means to protect public health. Limiting their contact with love ones leaves people with disabilities totally unprotected from any form of abuse or neglect in institutions.’”
 
As governments move to introduce economic measures to mitigate the impact of the pandemic on the financial life of the country, people with disabilities must be included in an equitable manner in these plans as people with disabilities face a disproportionate rate of poverty.  In addition, people with disabilities face additional costs related to their disabilities that people without disabilities do not incur.
 
Individuals and private businesses can also play a role in keeping environments barrier-free, as the country responds to COVID-19. For example, use scent-free sanitizing products in public places to keep these areas safe for people who have environmental sensitivity. Some commercial service providers are implementing social distancing measures by asking customers to wait in their personal vehicles instead of waiting rooms. Businesses need to accommodate customers with disabilities, who travel on public transit and do not have a personal car, by providing priority space for them in waiting rooms.  “We are pleased to observe some businesses accommodating customers with disabilities.  For example, some stores are reserving a beginning of the day priority shopping period for people with disabilities and seniors so that they can make their purchases in less crowded conditions when the shelves are well stocked,” states John Rae.
 
To ensure that our responses benefit the entire community, Canada needs to take an intersectional approach to the decision making around the COVID-19.  Diverse decision making is smart decision making.  The United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Catalina Davandas “has urged that the organizations of people with disabilities be involved in all stages of the COVID-19 response.”
 
CCD is a national human rights organization of people with disabilities working for an inclusive and accessible Canada.  Our mission and mandate is as follows:
 
Mission - The Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) is a social justice organization of people with all disabilities that champions the voices of people with disabilities, advocating an inclusive and accessible Canada, where people with disabilities have full realization of their human rights, as described in the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.
 
Mandate - The Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) unites advocacy organizations of people with disabilities to defend and extend human rights for persons with disabilities through public education, advocacy, intervention in litigation, research, consultation and partnerships.  CCD amplifies the expertise of our partners by acting as a convening body and consensus builder.
 
-30-
 
For More Information Contact:
John Rae, 2nd Vice Chair and Chair of the CCD Social Policy Committee: Tel: 416-941-1547. Email: thepenguin@rogers.com

https://www.facebook.com/ccdonline/

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Média

Communiqué de presse – La réponse à la COVID 19 doit s’inscrire dans l’optique droits des personnes handicapées

Pour distribution immédiate

Le 18 mars 2020
 
Le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) tient à rappeler à tous les paliers de gouvernement, aux organisations communautaires et aux entreprises réagissant à la pandémie du COVID 19 que toute la planification doit s’inscrire dans un optique de droits de la personne et de droits des personnes en situation de handicap afin que les mesures prises par  notre pays ne laissent personne sur la touche.  .

En ratifiant la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (CDPH), le Canada s’est engagé à respecter les normes établies  dans l’article  25 (Santé) stipulant que «  Les États parties prennent toutes les mesures appropriées pour  assurer  aux personnes handicapées l’accès à des services de santé qui prennent en compte les sexospécificités, y compris des services de réadaptation. En particulier, les États Parties : a) fournissent aux personnes handicapées des services de santé gratuits ou d’un coût abordable couvrant la même gamme et de la même qualité que ceux offerts aux autres personnes… »

Le CCD encourage les décideurs  à se conformer aux principes d’accessibilité universelle afin que les personnes aux capacités humaines les plus diverses puissent bénéficier des ressources communautaires mises sur pied pour lutter contre la  COVID 19.  « Les sites de dépistage doivent être physiquement accessibles et bien situés sur les parcours  de transport public, a déclaré John Rae, 2ème vice-président du CCD. Les mises à jour en santé publique doivent être disponibles en langage clair et simple sur les sites Web accessibles afin que tous les Canadiens puissent facilement se prévaloir de ces renseignements cruciaux, a-t-il précisé. »

« Si nous comprenons l’importance de la distanciation sociale, nous savons aussi que dans les établissements de soins de longue durée,  les personnes en situation de handicap  ont besoin d’être connectées à leur réseau  de soutien  personnel qui sert souvent de filet de sécurité contre les abus, a ajouté John Rae, 2ème vice-président du CCD.  Nous nous associons aux commentaires de Catalina Davanda,   Rapporteure spéciale sur les droits des personnes handicapées , qui a déclaré “ les restrictions devraient être étroitement circonscrites et appliquées de la manière la moins intrusive pour protéger la santé publique. En limitant les relations des personnes handicapées avec leurs êtres chers, nous les laissons  complètement démunies devant toute forme d’abus ou de négligence  institutionnelle. »

Étant donné  l’incidence disproportionnée de la pauvreté qu’elles subissent,  ces personnes doivent être équitablement visées dans les  plans développés par les gouvernements pour atténuer l’impact de la pandémie sur l’économie du pays.  De plus, les personnes en situation de handicap doivent assumer des dépenses supplémentaires liées aux limitations fonctionnelles que ne connaissent pas les personnes non handicapées.  

En cette période de mesures contre la COVID 19, les particuliers et les entreprises privées peuvent aussi jouer un rôle prépondérant pour maintenir un environnement sans obstacle, comme utiliser par exemple des produits désinfectants inodores dans les lieux publics, sécuritaires pour les personnes à sensibilité environnementale.  Certains fournisseurs commerciaux  imposent la distanciation sociale en demandant à leurs clients de rester dans leurs voitures au lieu des salles d’attente. Les entreprises doivent toutefois accommoder les personnes en situation de handicap  qui empruntent les transports publics et n’ont pas de véhicule personnel et leur accorder une place prioritaire dans les salles d’attente. « Nous nous réjouissons des  mesures prises par certains commerces  à l’égard des personnes  handicapées, priorisées en  début de la journée pour faire leurs achats dans des conditions moins surpeuplées et avec des étagères  bien achalandées. a souligné John Rae. » 

Pour que toute la collectivité puisse  bénéficier des mesures préventives, le Canada doit adopter une approche intersectionnelle dans ses décisions concernant  la COVID 19.  Une prise de décision diversifiée est une prise de décision  judicieuse. Catalinas Davanda,  Rapporteure spéciale sur les droits des personnes handicapées , a « recommandé aux  organisations de personnes handicapées de participer à toutes les phases de la réponse à la COVID 19. »

Le CCD est une organisation nationale de défense des droits de la personne, œuvrant pour un Canada accessible et inclusif.  Elle a pour mandat et pour mission:

Mission

Le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) est une organisation de justice sociale mettant en valeur les voix de toutes les personnes handicapées et revendiquant un Canada accessible et inclusif au sein duquel les personnes en situation de handicap pourront pleinement exercer leurs droits fondamentaux, tels qu’énoncés dans la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées.

Mandat

Le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD)  unit des organisations de personnes handicapées  afin de défendre et d’élargir les droits des personnes en situation de handicap par la sensibilisation publique, la revendication, l’intervention dans les litiges, la  recherche, la consultation et les partenariats. Agissant comme rassembleur et bâtisseur de consensus, le CCD amplifie l’expertise de ses partenaires.

 
-30-

Pour plus de renseignements, contacter :

John Rae, 2ème vice-président et président du Comité de politique sociale du CCD: Tél: 416-941-1547. Courriel: thepenguin@rogers.com
https://www.facebook.com/ccdonline/




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2020, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.