NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities

RECOMMENDATIONS

The project work that NEADS has undertaken with its partners since December 2003 has been significant in scope and impact. Based on research, consultations undertaken during the project Access to Academic Materials for Students with Print Disabilities, and submissions from other organizations, we recommend that:

  • Post-secondary students with all types of print disabilities should have access to academic materials for their studies in a format or formats of choice.
  • Materials provided must be made available in a timely manner to ensure that students who cannot use standard print can pursue college and university education on a level playing field, with equal access to all the tools of learning.
  • Publishers should make their books readily available in accessible, useable, complete electronic formats, at a reasonable price.
  • Initiatives such as the National Network for Equitable Public Library Service for Canadians with Print Disabilities, which includes the development of a Clearinghouse for making publishers electronic files available to alternate format producers, be supported in order to improve access to information for Canadians.
  • In this regard, changes to Canada’s copyright legislation are required so that the needs of those who cannot read regular print are acknowledged and accommodated.
  • Students with disabilities are entitled to a complete version of the book and to all information that is available in the printed version including text as well as graphs, charts, tables, etc.
  • While there is a need to establish professional standards of quality production of alternate format texts and other learning materials in Canada, this should not create an impediment to timely delivery. For that reason, disability service centres and libraries on college and university campuses should have sufficient resources, staff, and technology to continue to produce materials in a variety of formats and of different types – as required by individual students – in-house.
  • In fact, there is also a need for greater resources that allow academic materials to be produced by the organizations that have the capacity and expertise.
  • Professionally produced books and other learning materials in all formats should be made more widely available for sharing between schools, libraries, provinces and jurisdictions.
  • Professors, teachers and instructors must be willing to support the learning needs of all of their students, including those with print disabilities. Reading lists and academic requirements for each course of study must be established with sufficient lead time to allow materials to be rendered accessible to students in formats of choice at the beginning of each semester.
  • Accessibility does not end with required readings. Students with print disabilities must be able to participate in all aspect of campus life and must have access to other types of materials, including course calendars, handbooks and campus newspapers.
  • Professors and instructors must become more understanding of and familiar with the requirements of students with print disabilities in their classrooms. Depending upon the school, this may necessitate the delivery of faculty training/workshop sessions involving students and disability service centre staff.
  • The Internet is being used by post-secondary institutions and faculties for course work. University and college websites must be fully accessible, in particular for those who use screen-reading software.
  • Technology can level the playing field and allow students with disabilities to compete and succeed in a post-secondary environment. Students who require alternate format materials must have access to the best, most appropriate technology – both hardware and software – at an affordable price. The equipment must be made available to students in their homes and also in campus disability service centres, libraries and all computer labs.
  • To make full use of technologies, students with print disabilities must be provided with professional training in the use of their equipment.
  • Students are often put in a position where they have to produce course materials in alternate formats themselves. This can be time-consuming and exhausting and can take away from much-needed study time. Students with disabilities must have their academic materials provided in a format of their choice from a reliable source.
  • Often the biggest barrier to access to post-secondary education for students with disabilities is adequate funding to attend school considering disability related costs. The Canada Student Loans Program and provincial student financial assistance programs must continue to support students with disabilities through the Canada Study Grants program and similar provincial bursary programs in terms of funding for equipment and services costs relating to access to academic materials in formats of choice.

This report concludes by recommending that there continue to be consultations with key stakeholder groups. These groups include: students through the National Educational Association of Disabled Students, the library community and consumers with disabilities through the Council on Access to Information for Print Disabled Canadians (as supported by Library and Archives Canada) and the Canadian Association of Educational Resource Centres for Alternate Formats, and service providers through the Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education. Efforts should be made by all concerned parties to ensure that publishing houses produce accessible alternate format versions of the textbooks at the source.

Finally, among some of the main conclusions, it is recommended that there should be an office/person in post-secondary institutions whose responsibility will be to act as a liaison between the faculties and departments and the disability service centres to ensure that each students’ alternate format needs are being met. This staff person could also be part of the disability service centre team, depending upon the structure of services within each institution. The office/persons duties would include ensuring the timely access to academic materials.

Table of Contents


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérêt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Accs aux documents scolaires pour les tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims

RECOMMENDATIONS

Le projet entrepris par NEADS avec ses partenaires partir de dcembre 2003 a eu une porte et un impact importants. D'aprs les recherches effectues, les consultations ralises pendant le projet Accs aux documents scolaires pour les tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims et les mmoires des autres organisations, nous recommandons ce qui suit :

  • Les tudiants du secondaire incapables de lire les imprims, peu importe le type de dficience, devraient avoir accs aux documents scolaires pour leurs tudes dans un ou plusieurs mdias substituts de leur choix.
  • Les documents doivent tre offerts dans les dlais raisonnables afin de permettre aux tudiants qui ne peuvent pas utiliser les imprims standard de poursuivre leur ducation collgiale et universitaire sur un pied d'galit avec les tudiants sans dficience, avec un accs gal tous les outils pdagogiques.
  • Les diteurs devraient offrir leurs livres en un format accessible, utilisable et lectronique, et ce, un prix raisonnable.
  • Diverses initiatives, comme le National Network for Equitable Public Library Service for Canadians with Print Disabilities qui vise mettre en place un dpt offrant les fichiers lectroniques des diteurs aux producteurs de mdias substituts, devraient tre soutenues afin d'amliorer l'accs des Canadiens et des Canadiennes l'information.
  • Par ailleurs, des modifications s'imposent la Loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur, afin que les besoins des personnes incapables de lire les imprims soient reconnus et pris en compte.
  • Les tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s ont droit une version complte des manuels et de toute l'information disponibles en version imprime, y compris le texte, les graphiques, les diagrammes, les tableaux, etc.
  • Il y a lieu d'tablir des normes professionnelles de production de qualit pour les textes et les autres documents pdagogiques en mdia substitut au Canada, mais cela ne devrait pas influer sur les dlais de livraison. C'est pourquoi les centres de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s et les bibliothques des collges et des universits devraient avoir suffisamment de ressources, de personnel et de technologies pour continuer de produire l'interne les documents dans divers mdias et types, selon les besoins des tudiants.
  • En fait, on doit disposer de plus de ressources pour permettre aux organisations qui possdent les capacits et l'expertise de produire les documents scolaires de manire professionnelle.
  • Les livres et autres documents pdagogiques produits de manire professionnelle, dans tous les mdias, devraient tre largement diffuss afin d'en permettre le partage entre les coles, les bibliothques, les provinces et les divers domaines de comptence.
  • Les professeurs, les enseignants et les chargs de cours doivent tre disposs rpondre aux besoins pdagogiques de tous leurs tudiants, y compris ceux et celles qui sont incapables de lire les imprims. Les listes de documents requis et les exigences de chaque cours doivent tre tablies suffisamment l'avance, pour permettre aux tudiants d'obtenir les documents dans le mdia de leur choix, et ce, ds le dbut de chaque semestre.
  • L'accessibilit ne se limite pas aux seuls manuels de cours. Les tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims doivent pouvoir participer tous les aspects de la vie collgiale et universitaire, et donc avoir accs aux autres types de documents, y compris les annuaires de cours, les guides et les journaux tudiants.
  • Les professeurs et les enseignants doivent mieux comprendre les besoins des tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims dans leurs classes, et tre familiers avec ces besoins. Tout dpendant de l'cole, cela pourrait prendre la forme de sances de formation et d'ateliers pour les professeurs, auxquels pourraient participer les tudiants et le personnel des centres de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s.
  • Les tablissements postsecondaires et les professeurs utilisent Internet pour prsenter le matriel de cours. Les sites Web des universits et des collges doivent tre pleinement accessibles, notamment pour les personnes qui utilisent des logiciels de lecture d'cran.
  • La technologie peut tre loutil qui permettra aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s de russir pleinement leurs tudes au niveau postsecondaire. Les tudiants qui ont besoin de documents en mdia substitut doivent avoir accs la technologie la meilleure et la plus approprie qui soit (matriel et logiciel) et ce, un prix abordable. Les tudiants doivent pouvoir utiliser l'quipement chez eux, et galement dans les centres de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s sur les campus, dans les bibliothques et dans tous les laboratoires informatiques.
  • Pour utiliser pleinement ces technologies, les tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims doivent recevoir une formation professionnelle, pour savoir comment utiliser l'quipement.
  • Les tudiants sont souvent obligs de produire eux mmes des documents scolaires en mdia substitut. Cela peut prendre beaucoup de temps et tre puisant, ce qui laisse moins de temps pour l'tude. Les tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s doivent recevoir leurs documents scolaires dans le mdia de leur choix, d'une source fiable.
  • Un des plus grands obstacles l'accs l'ducation postsecondaire pour les tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s est l'absence d'un financement adquat leur permettant de frquenter les collges et universits, compte tenu des cots associs leur dficience. Le Programme canadien de prts aux tudiants et les programmes provinciaux d'aide aux tudiants doivent continuer de soutenir les tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s, par l'intermdiaire des Subventions canadiennes pour tudes et des programmes provinciaux similaires, tant en terme de financement d'quipement et des services, mais aussi pour le financement de l'quipement et des cots de service associs l'accs aux documents scolaires en mdia substitut, dont les tudiants ont besoin.

Nous concluons ce rapport en recommandant que l'on poursuive les consultations avec les principales parties intresses. Ces groupes comprennent : les tudiants, par l'intermdiaire de lAssociation nationale des tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s au niveau postsecondaire, les bibliothques et les consommateurs handicaps, par l'intermdiaire du Conseil sur l'accs l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprims (soutenu par Bibliothque et Archives Canada) et la Canadian Association of Education Resource Centres for Alternate Formats, ainsi que les dispensateurs de services regroups dans l'Association canadienne des conseillers en services aux tudiants handicaps au post-secondaire. Toutes les parties intresses ne devraient pas mnager leurs efforts afin d'encourager les diteurs produire la source des versions de leurs manuels en mdia substitut accessible.

Enfin, parmi les principales conclusions, nous recommandons que les tablissements postsecondaires se dotent d'un bureau ou d'une personne dont la responsabilit serait d'assurer la liaison entre les professeurs et les dpartements d'une part, et les centres de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s d'autre part, afin que lon rponde aux besoins de chaque tudiant en matire de documents scolaires en mdia substitut. Cet employ ou ce bureau pourrait galement faire partie de l'quipe du centre de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s, tout dpendant de la structure des services dans chaque tablissement. Les tches de cette personne ou de ce bureau pourraient notamment consister assurer l'accs aux documents scolaires dans des dlais raisonnables.

Table des matires


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2023, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.