NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

British Columbia Institute of Technology

Burnaby, British Columbia

Disability Issues in The Classroom: Meeting the Challenge

Facilitator's Guide

This facilitator's guide provides specific information on how to deliver a three-hour workshop on disability issues in the classroom. This workshop is designed for six to fifteen participants. It is part of a faculty in-service project that provides support for faculty on disability issues. The presenter will find this workshop easy to deliver.

The purpose of the workshop is to dispel common myths about students with disabilities and to address faculty's concerns and questions about different disabilities. It will help each faculty member to obtain the appropriate knowledge and problem-solving skills to offer accommodations and select appropriate teaching strategies for their disabled students. The expectation is that the new techniques learned will help students achieve their full potential and success in their chosen programs.

By the end of the workshop, the participants will be able to define "duty to accommodate," "essential program requirements" and "otherwise qualified students." They will be able to describe the purpose and principles of reasonable accommodation in the classroom and understand the roles and responsibilities of the institution, faculty, student, and disability services.

This workshop is divided into eight segments:

  1. Opening
  2. Experiential Activity
  3. Case Analysis
  4. Accommodation Guidelines
  5. Skill Practice
  6. Roles and Responsibilities
  7. Teaching Strategies
  8. Closure

This workshop is designed to be interactive, experiential, relevant and practical in nature. It incorporates information, awareness and skills practice through case studies, role-playing, large and small group discussion and short lectures. The first 24 pages of the publication are dedicated to introductions and an actual set-up of the workshops. Presenters are told when they should use the overheads or handouts that are found in the last 40 pages of the guide. The appendices section consists of overheads, handouts, articles, case studies, exercises, tables, graphs and a bibliography. Each section of the workshop has been timed perfectly so it flows; on the left hand column of the page the amount of time has been allotted for each segment.

Rhonda Margolis and Shirley Coomber developed this guide with funding from the Ministry of Skills, Training and Labour and the Centre for Curriculum and Professional Development.

Contact:
Derek McLauchlan
Learning Specialist
British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)
3700 Willingdon Avenue
Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 3H2
Phone: 604-451-6963
TTY: 604-432-8954
Fax: 604-431-0724
Email: disabilityresourcecenter@bcit.ca
Web site: http://www.bcit.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérêt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communaut postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

British Columbia Institute of Technology

Burnaby, Colombie- Britannique

Disability Issues in The Classroom: Meeting the Challenge

Guide de l'animateur

Ce guide de l'animateur fournit des informations spcifiques sur la manire de donner un atelier de trois heures sur les questions lies aux dficiences dans la salle de classe. Cet atelier est conu pour de six quinze participants. Il s'inscrit dans le cadre d'un projet interne visant offrir un soutien aux enseignant- e- s l'gard des questions lies aux dficiences. Le prsentateur verra que l'atelier est facile donner.

Cet atelier a pour objectif de faire taire les mythes entourant les tudiant- e- s handicaps et de rpondre aux proccupations et aux questions des enseignant- e- s l'gard des diffrents handicaps. Cet atelier permettra aux enseignant- e- s d'acqurir les connaissances et les comptences ncessaires pour rgler les problmes et pouvoir ainsi offrir des amnagements et choisir des stratgies d'enseignement appropries pour les tudiant- e- s On s'attend ce que les nouvelles techniques apprises aident les tudiant- e- s raliser leur plein potentiel et russir dans les programmes choisis.

la fin de l'atelier, les participants seront en mesure de dfinir les termes " devoir d'offrir des amnagements ", " exigences essentielles du programme " et " tudiant- e- s autrement qualifis ". Ils sauront dcrire l'objet et les principes d'un amnagement raisonnable dans la salle de classe et comprendre les rles et responsabilits de l'tablissement, du corps professoral, de l'tudiant- e et des services aux tudiant- e- s handicaps.

Cet atelier comprend huit segments :

  1. Ouverture
  2. Activit exprientielle
  3. Analyse de cas
  4. Directives rgissant les amnagements
  5. Pratique des comptences
  6. Rles et responsabilits
  7. Stratgies d'enseignement
  8. Clture

Cet atelier se veut interactif, exprientiel, pertinent et pratique. Il intgre l'information, la sensibilisation et la pratique des comptences grce des tudes de cas, des mises en situation, des discussions en petits et grands groupes et de courtes confrences. Les 24 premires pages de la publication sont consacres aux prsentations et l'organisation des ateliers. On dit aux prsentateurs quand utiliser les rtroprojecteurs ou les documents qui se trouvent dans les 40 dernires pages du guide. En annexe, on trouve des actates, des documents, des articles, des tudes de cas, des exercices, des tableaux, des graphiques et une bibliographie. On a valu avec prcision la dure de chaque segment de l'atelier, pour que tout se droule en douceur. Dans la colonne de gauche de la page figure le temps consacrer chaque segment. Rhonda Margolis et Shirley Coomber ont mis ce guide au point avec la participation financire du Ministry of Skills, Training and Labour et du Centre for Curriculum and Professional Development.

Personne-ressource :
Derek McLauchlan
Learning Specialist
British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)
3700 Willingdon Avenue
Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 3H2
Tlphone : 604-451-6963
Tlscripteur : 604-432-8954
Tlcopieur : 604-431-0724
Courriel : disabilityresourcecenter@bcit.ca
Site Web : www.bcit.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2023, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.