NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?

Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through!


Statement from Tracy MacCharles on the Final Report by the Partnership Council on Employment Opportunities for People with Disabilities

(June 27, 2016 11:00 a.m.)

Today Tracy MacCharles, Minister Responsible for Accessibility, released the following statement:

"I would like to thank the Partnership Council on Employment Opportunities for People with Disabilities for their final report:

Our government recognizes that including more people with disabilities in Ontario's labour force will fill skills gaps, support economic growth, and strengthen communities across the province. That's why we established the Partnership Council on Employment Opportunities for People with Disabilities, bringing together 13 respected and creative business, accessibility and community leaders.

For two years, the council has worked diligently to explore various ways government can address high unemployment rates for people with disabilities. We are grateful for their service and commitment to building a more accessible Ontario that includes economic and social opportunities for everyone.

Like the council, we believe that increasing employment opportunities for people with disabilities and building inclusive workplaces is a matter of fundamental importance to our society and our economy. Brad Duguid, Minister of Economic Development and Growth, has worked tirelessly to make inclusive employment a priority in Ontario's economy. I'd like to thank him for supporting the Partnership Council and helping to promote a culture shift that makes inclusion a fundamental part of doing business in the province.

Both Minister Duguid and I take the advice and eight recommendations of the council seriously. We are adopting a whole-of-government approach to identify the options available to address each one. As the new Minister Responsible for Accessibility, I will bring together resources from across government to break down employment barriers experienced by people with disabilities.

We are pleased that many of the council's recommendations align with work our government has underway. Ontario's Provincial Employment Strategy for People with Disabilities, a key Budget 2016 commitment, was designed to respond to the council's initial report. This will help connect more people with disabilities to the labour market, while supporting employers and communities to become accessible. It will build upon our ongoing work to promote the hiring of people with disabilities as laid out in Ontario's Accessibility Action Plan.

Ontario will also continue to support communications opportunities to promote a culture shift towards accessibility in the workforce, including the development of a new public education and marketing campaign to educate businesses and employees on the benefits of accessibility and hiring people with disabilities.

Since the enactment of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act in 2005, our government has made good progress on our journey to build an accessible province that includes more people with disabilities in the labour force. Still, we know there's more to do. I am confident that the council's report will help us go further -- and move faster -- to improve employment opportunities for people with disabilities.

I'd like to thank the council once again for their leadership and expert advice. I encourage all Ontarians to follow their lead and promote the benefits of employing people with disabilities wherever they work and live. Together, we'll build inclusive Ontario communities and forward-thinking, global businesses that profit from the strengths of everyone."

Media Contacts:

Andreas Kyprianou, Communications Branch, 416-325-2479

Jessica Hume, Minister's Office. 416-325-7569


All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Comment puis je savoir quel collège ou quelle université offre un accès physique adéquat aux salles de cours et aux autres installations?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

27 juin 2016 11h00

Ministère du Développement et de la Croissance économiques Aujourd'hui, Tracy MacCharles, la ministre responsable de l'Accessibilité, a publié la déclaration suivante :

https://goo.gl/qFqTYQ

« Je remercie le Conseil de partenariat pour les perspectives d'emploi des personnes handicapées pour son rapport final.

Notre gouvernement reconnaît que l'inclusion de plus de personnes handicapées dans la main-d'œuvre de l'Ontario comblera des lacunes de compétences, appuiera la croissance économique et dynamisera les collectivités dans toute la province. Voilà pourquoi nous avons établi le Conseil de partenariat pour les perspectives d'emploi des personnes handicapées, qui réunit 13 leaders respectés et créatifs du milieu des affaires, en matière d'accessibilité et du milieu communautaire.

Pendant deux ans, le Conseil a travaillé de façon diligente à explorer divers moyens par lesquels le gouvernement peut remédier aux taux de chômage élevé chez les personnes handicapées. Nous remercions les membres du Conseil de leur service et de leur engagement à la création d'une province plus accessible qui prévoit des perspectives économiques et sociales pour tous. 

Comme le Conseil, nous croyons que l'accroissement des perspectives d'emploi des personnes handicapées et la création de milieux de travail inclusifs sont une affaire d'une importance fondamentale pour notre société et notre économie. Brad Duguid, le ministre du Développement économique et de la Croissance, a travaillé inlassablement à faire de l'emploi inclusif une priorité dans l'économie de l'Ontario. Je tiens à le remercier d'avoir appuyé le Conseil de partenariat et contribué à la promotion d'un changement de culture qui fait de l'inclusion un aspect fondamental des affaires dans la province.

Le ministre Duguid et moi-même prenons au sérieux les conseils et les huit recommandations du Conseil. Nous adoptons une approche pangouvernementale afin de trouver les options accessibles pour prêter attention à chacune d'elles. À titre de nouvelle ministre responsable de l'Accessibilité, je rassemblerai les ressources de tous les secteurs du gouvernement pour faire tomber les barrières à l'emploi auxquelles se butent les personnes handicapées.

Je suis heureuse que bon nombre des recommandations du Conseil s'harmonisent avec le travail que notre gouvernement a amorcé. Un engagement clé dans le cadre du Budget 2016, la stratégie provinciale d'emploi pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario a été élaborée pour donner suite au rapport initial du Conseil. Cette démarche permettra de lier plus de personnes handicapées au marché du travail, tout en aidant les employeurs et les collectivités à devenir accessibles. Elle s'appuiera sur notre travail continu de promotion de l'embauche de personnes handicapées, tel que le prévoit le Plan d'action sur l'accessibilité de l'Ontario.

L'Ontario continuera également d'appuyer les occasions de communications afin de promouvoir un changement de culture vers l'accessibilité au marché du travail, y compris une nouvelle campagne publique d'information et de marketing pour sensibiliser les entreprises et les employés aux avantages de l'accessibilité et de l'embauche de personnes handicapées.

Depuis l'adoption de la Loi de 2005 sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario, notre gouvernement a bien progressé dans son cheminement de création d'une province accessible qui inclut plus de personnes handicapées dans la main-d'œuvre. Nous savons cependant que le travail n'est pas terminé. J'ai bon espoir que le rapport du Conseil nous aidera à aller plus loin - et à avancer plus rapidement - pour améliorer les perspectives d'emploi des personnes handicapées.

J'aimerais remercier le Conseil encore une fois pour son leadership et ses avis d'expert. J'encourage tous les Ontariens à suivre l'exemple du Conseil et à promouvoir les avantages d'employer des personnes handicapées, peu importe où ils travaillent et vivent. Ensemble, nous créerons des collectivités ontariennes inclusives et avant-gardistes, des entreprises mondiales qui tirent parti des forces de tout le monde. »

Contacts Médias

Jessica Hume, Bureau du ministre, jessica.hume@ontario.ca 416 325-7569

Andreas Kyprianou, Direction des communications, andreas.kyprianou@ontario.ca 416 325-2479




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.