NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Mental Health Commission of Canada developing a Post-Secondary Students Standard

What is the issue?

Acquiring a post-secondary education is exciting, transformative, but also challenging. The majority of students must juggle academic, financial, and personal demands on a day to day basis.

In that context, an increasing number of post-secondary students are experiencing mental health problems. In fact, 75% of first-time mental health diagnoses occur between the ages of 16 and 25.

What are we doing?

The Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) is embarking on a two-year project to develop a National Standard on Psychological Health and Safety for post-secondary students. Like the Standard developed for the workplace https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/English/what-we-do/workplace/national-standard , it will act as a voluntary guideline to help Canada’s academic institutions protect and promote students’ psychological health and safety, and support students’ success.

As one of the project key steps, a literature review was undertaken by Dr. Heather Stuart and her team at Queen’s University. This work shares information on emerging and promising practices related to psychological health and safety of post-secondary students. A summary is available and you can access the full report by sending an email to studentstandard@mentalhealthcommission.ca

The MHCC is working collaboratively with the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Group, as the standards development organization, towards the development of the Standard. Funding is being provided from Bell Let’s Talk, The Rossy Family Foundation, RBC Foundation and Health Canada.

Consultations will begin to take place across Canada in the fall of 2018. A broad audience from students, family members, post-secondary organizations and faculty will be called upon to give discuss existing challenges and potential opportunities. To learn more:

    Read: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ )
    Email us:  studentstandard@mentalhealthcommission.ca
    View: our Today’s Students – Tomorrow’s Workforce! webinar
    Find us: at these events

To share this project with your colleagues and other stakeholders, download, email or print our information sheet: https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/sites/default/files/downloads/post_secondary_student_standard_one_pager_eng.pdf

Source: Mental Health Commission of Canada: https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/English/post-secondary-students-standard

 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que j’aurai un accès approprié aux services médicaux si j’en ai besoin pendant mon année d’études?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Norme nationale sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants du postsecondaire - La Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (CSMC)

Norme nationale sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants du postsecondaire

Quel est l’enjeu?

Suivre une formation postsecondaire est stimulant, transformateur, mais ceci comporte aussi des défis.  La plupart des étudiants doivent composer à la fois avec les défis des études, les défis financiers et les exigences personnelles du quotidien.

Pour cette raison, un nombre croissant d’étudiants du postsecondaire connaissent des problèmes de santé mentale. En fait, 75 % des premiers diagnostics de problèmes de santé mentale sont établis entre 16 et 25 ans.

Que faisons-nous?

La Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (CSMC) est sur le point de développer un projet de deux ans qui vise à élaborer une Norme nationale sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants du postsecondaire. Tout comme la Norme qui a été élaborée pour le milieu du travail, cette norme prendra la forme de directives d’application volontaire afin d’aider les institutions canadiennes à protéger et à promouvoir la santé et la sécurité psychologique des étudiants et à les aider à réussir.

Entre autres phases clés de ce projet, une revue de littérature a été entreprise par professeure Heather Stuart et son équipe de l’Université Queen’s. Cette analyse partage de l’information sur les pratiques émergentes et prometteuses liées à la santé et la sécurité psychologiques des étudiants du postsecondaire. Un résumé est présentement disponible et vous pouvez obtenir le rapport complet en écrivant à normeetudiant@commissionsantementale.ca

La CSMC travaille en collaboration avec le Groupe CSA, un organisme d’élaboration de normes, pour élaborer la présente Norme: https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/Francais/ce-que-nous-faisons/sante-mentale-en-milieu-de-travail/norme-nationale  Le projet reçoit l’appui financier de Bell Cause pour la Cause, de la Fondation familiale Rossy, de la Fondation RBC et de Santé Canada.

Les concertations débuteront partout au Canada à l’automne 2018. Un large public composé d’étudiants, des membres de la famille, d’établissements postsecondaires et du corps professoral prendront part aux discussions et pourront présenter les défis qui se posent à eux, ainsi que les occasions potentielles. Pour en savoir plus :

    Lisez : la Foire Aux Questions (FAQ)
    Écrivez-nous à : normeetudiant@commissionsantementale.ca
    Visionnez : notre webinaire Étudiants d’aujourd’hui, travailleurs de demain!
    Retrouvez-nous: à ces évènements

Pour partager ce projet avec vos collègues et d’autres partenaires, vous pouvez télécharger et envoyer par courriel (ou imprimer) notre fiche d’information : https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/sites/default/files/downloads/post_secondary_student_standard_one_pager_fr.pdf

(Média : La Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (CSMC) : https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/Francais/norme-nationale-sur-la-sante-et-la-securite-psychologiques-pour-les-etudiants-du-postsecondaire )

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.