NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there funding available to pay for material production in alternate formats?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Canadian Survey on Disability, 2017 Canadians with disabilities: A demographic, employment and income profile, 2017

(released on November 28, 2018) -

An estimated one in five Canadians (or 6.2 million) aged 15 years and over had one or more disabilities that limited them in their daily activities, according to new findings from the 2017 Canadian Survey on Disability (CSD).

For many of these Canadians, challenges and obstacles in their day-to-day lives may limit their full participation in society. Understanding the challenges faced by persons with disabilities in their personal, employment, or economic situations helps inform government policy.

The CSD is the main source of data on disabilities for those aged 15 years and over. For the 2017 survey, new questions were designed to ensure better overall coverage of persons with disabilities, especially for persons with disability types that are less visible, such as mental health-related and cognitive disabilities. More than 1 in 10 youth in Canada have one or more disabilities

The prevalence of disabilities among Canadians tends to increase with age. However, more than 540,000 youths aged 15 to 24 years (13%) had one or more disabilities. This compared with 20% or 3.7 million of working age adults (25 to 64 years), and 38% or 2 million of seniors aged 65 and over. Women (24%) were more likely to have a disability than men (20%) and this was the case across all age groups. More than 4 in 10 Canadians with disabilities have a severe or very severe disability

Severity is a major factor in looking at the lives of persons with disabilities. Those with more severe disabilities often have lower rates of employment, lower income even when employed full-year and full-time, and a greater likelihood of living in poverty regardless of age.

In 2017, 57% of Canadians with disabilities had a "milder" disability (classified as having a mild or moderate disability) and 43% had a "more severe" disability (classified as having a severe or very severe disability). In all cases, the disability was severe enough to limit them to some extent in their daily activities. Mental health-related and learning disabilities are the most common types of disabilities among youth.

The prevalence of disabilities varies at different stages of life. Common to all age groups, however, was the prominence of pain-related disabilities—which were the most prevalent disability type among working age adults and seniors, and the third most prevalent disability among youth.

The most common disability types among seniors were pain, mobility, and flexibility—each affecting about one-quarter of all seniors, often in combination. Among working age adults, 14% had a pain-related disability, and roughly half that percentage had a disability related to mental health, flexibility or mobility (and often in combination).

Mental health-related disabilities (7%) ranked fourth in prevalence among disability types for persons aged 15 years and over, and represented just over 2 million Canadians. In fact, among youth, mental health-related (8%) was the most common type of disability, followed by learning (6%), and pain-related disabilities (4%).

Most Canadians with a disability had more than one type of disability. Of the 6.2 million Canadians with disabilities aged 15 years and over, 29% had one type of disability; 38% had two or three disabilities; and 33% had four or more. About one-third of youth with more severe disabilities are neither in school nor employed

Youth with disabilities are at a higher risk of not being in school or employed, and this increased with the severity of the disability. Understanding the type of disability and its severity is important, then, for supporting youth in making the transition into post-secondary education or the labour market.

About 15% of youth with milder disabilities were neither in school nor employed, compared with about 31% of youth with more severe disabilities.

Among youth with disabilities who were neither in school nor employed, 87% had a mental health-related disability, a learning disability, or both. Since those with mental health-related and/or learning disabilities accounted for 77% of youth with disabilities, this suggests they are disproportionately affected when it comes to being neither in school nor employed. Persons with very severe disabilities are two-and a-half times less likely to be employed than those with mild disabilities

In 2017, persons with disabilities faced lower employment rates, particularly for Canadians with very severe disabilities, and those with lower levels of education.

About 59% of working-age adults with disabilities were employed compared with around 80% of those without disabilities. However, as severity of disability increased, the percentage of those employed fell from 76% among those with mild disabilities to 31% among those with very severe disabilities.

The presence of a disability did not preclude older adults (55 to 64 years) from working. The more severe the disability, however, the less likely they were to be employed. In fact, the percentage of employed older adults was lowest for those with more severe disabilities (30%), while it was 58% for those with milder disabilities and 67% for people in the same age bracket without a disability.
Almost one-third of working age adults with more severe disabilities are living in poverty

Overall, persons with disabilities had lower personal income compared to those without disabilities and it varied depending on sex, severity of disability, and household living arrangements.

For example, women aged 25 to 64 years with milder disabilities had median after-tax personal income that was 24% less than their male counterparts and 13% less than women without disabilities.

Among working age adults, personal income was strongly related to the severity of disability. Those with no disabilities had a higher median after-tax personal income ($39,000) than those with milder disabilities ($34,300) and those with more severe disabilities ($19,200).

In addition, among working age adults, 28% of those with more severe disabilities were living below Canada's official poverty line (based on the Market Basket Measure), compared with 14% of those with milder disabilities and 10% of those without disabilities.

The highest rates of poverty (for those aged 15 to 64 years) were among those with more severe disabilities who were living alone or were lone parents. For those living alone, 6 in 10 were below the poverty line, as were 4 in 10 of lone parents. Regardless of disability, 8 in 10 lone parents were women.

(Source: https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/daily-quotidien/181128/dq181128a-eng.htm?HPA=1 )




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que le conseiller d’orientation de mon école secondaire peut m’aider à choisir un collège ou une université qui pourra répondre aux besoins particuliers liés à ma déficience tout en offrant des programmes de la qualité requise dans le domaine de mon choix?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Enquête canadienne sur l'incapacité, 2017

Diffusion : 2018-11-28

Un Canadien sur cinq (soit 6,2 millions de personnes) âgé de 15 ans et plus présentait au moins une incapacité qui limitait ses activités, selon de nouveaux résultats de l'Enquête canadienne sur l'incapacité (ECI) de 2017.

Pour un grand nombre de ces Canadiens, des défis et des obstacles dans leur vie quotidienne peuvent limiter leur pleine participation à la société. Une meilleure compréhension des défis que doivent relever les personnes avec incapacité dans leurs situations personnelles, professionnelles ou économiques contribue à l'orientation des politiques gouvernementales.

L'ECI est la principale source de données sur les incapacités chez les Canadiens de 15 ans et plus. Pour l'ECI de 2017, de nouvelles questions ont été conçues pour assurer une meilleure couverture générale des personnes avec incapacité, particulièrement pour les personnes ayant des types d'incapacité qui sont moins visibles, comme les incapacités liées à la santé mentale et les incapacités cognitives. Plus de 1 jeune sur 10 au Canada a au moins une incapacité

La prévalence des incapacités chez les Canadiens a tendance à augmenter avec l'âge. Toutefois, plus de 540 000 jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans (13 %) avaient au moins une incapacité. En comparaison, 20 % (ou 3,7 millions) des adultes en âge de travailler (âgés de 25 à 64 ans) et 38 % (ou 2 millions) des aînés de 65 ans et plus avaient au moins une incapacité. Les femmes (24 %) étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir une incapacité que les hommes (20 %), et c'était le cas dans tous les groupes d'âge. Plus de 4 Canadiens sur 10 avec incapacité ont une incapacité sévère ou très sévère

La sévérité est un aspect important de la vie des personnes avec incapacité. Les personnes ayant une incapacité plus sévère affichent souvent des taux d'emploi et des niveaux de revenu moins élevés, même si elles occupent un emploi à temps plein toute l'année, ainsi qu'une probabilité supérieure de vivre dans la pauvreté sans égard à l'âge.

En 2017, 57 % des Canadiens avec incapacité avaient une incapacité « moins sévère » (classés comme ayant une incapacité légère ou modérée) et 43 % avaient une incapacité « plus sévère » (classés comme ayant une incapacité sévère ou très sévère). Dans tous les cas, l'incapacité était suffisamment sévère pour limiter dans une certaine mesure leurs activités. Les incapacités liées à la santé mentale et à l'apprentissage sont les types d'incapacité les plus fréquents chez les jeunes

Différents types d'incapacité sont plus dominants à différentes étapes de la vie. Cependant, les incapacités liées à la douleur étaient répandues chez tous les groupes d'âge : ce type était le plus prévalent chez les adultes en âge de travailler et les aînés, et le troisième type en importance chez les jeunes.

Les incapacités les plus fréquentes chez les aînés étaient liées à la douleur, à la mobilité et à la flexibilité, chacune touchant environ le quart des aînés, souvent en combinaison. Chez les adultes en âge de travailler, 14 % d'entre eux avaient une incapacité liée à douleur, et à peu près la moitié de ce pourcentage avait une incapacité liée à la santé mentale, à la flexibilité ou à la mobilité, souvent en combinaison.

La prévalence des incapacités liées à la santé mentale (7 %) arrivait au quatrième rang parmi tous les types d'incapacité chez les personnes de 15 ans et plus, représentant un peu plus de 2 millions de Canadiens. En fait, chez les jeunes, les incapacités liées à la santé mentale (8 %) étaient le type d'incapacité le plus courant, suivies des incapacités liées à l'apprentissage (6 %) et à la douleur (4 %).

La plupart des Canadiens avec incapacité présentaient plus d'un type d'incapacité. Parmi les 6,2 millions de Canadiens avec incapacité âgés de 15 ans et plus, 29 % avaient un type d'incapacité, 38 % avaient deux ou trois types d'incapacité, et 33 % en avaient quatre ou plus. Environ le tiers des jeunes ayant une incapacité plus sévère ne sont ni étudiants ni employés

Les jeunes avec incapacité affichent un risque plus élevé de ne pas fréquenter l'école et de ne pas avoir un emploi, et cette tendance augmente avec la sévérité de l'incapacité. Il est donc important de comprendre le type d'incapacité et sa sévérité pour aider les jeunes à passer aux études postsecondaires ou à entrer sur le marché du travail.

Environ 15 % des jeunes ayant une incapacité moins sévère ne fréquentaient pas l'école et n'avaient pas d'emploi, comparativement à une proportion de 31 % chez les jeunes ayant une incapacité plus sévère.

Parmi les jeunes avec incapacité qui ne fréquentaient pas l'école et n'avaient pas d'emploi, 87 % avaient une incapacité liée à la santé mentale, une incapacité liée à l'apprentissage, ou les deux. Puisque les jeunes ayant une incapacité liée à la santé mentale ou à l'apprentissage représentaient 77 % des jeunes avec incapacité, cela suggère qu'ils sont touchés de façon disproportionnée pour ce qui est d'être ni aux études ni en emploi.
Les personnes ayant une incapacité très sévère sont 2,5 fois moins susceptibles d'avoir un emploi que celles ayant une incapacité moins sévère

En 2017, les personnes avec incapacité affichaient des taux d'emploi moins élevés, notamment celles ayant une incapacité très sévère et celles ayant un niveau de scolarité moins élevé.

Environ 59 % des adultes en âge de travailler ayant une incapacité occupaient un emploi, comparativement à une proportion d'environ 80 % chez ceux n'ayant pas d'incapacité. Cependant, plus la sévérité de l'incapacité augmente, plus le pourcentage d'emploi diminue : 76 % des personnes ayant une incapacité légère avaient un emploi, comparativement à 31 % des personnes ayant une incapacité très sévère.

Chez les adultes plus âgés (55 à 64 ans), le fait d'avoir une incapacité ne les empêchait pas automatiquement de travailler. Toutefois, plus l'incapacité était sévère, moins ils étaient susceptibles d'avoir un emploi. En fait, parmi les adultes plus âgés, le taux d'emploi le plus bas, soit 30 %, était observé chez ceux ayant une incapacité plus sévère, alors qu'il était de 58 % chez ceux ayant une incapacité moins sévère, et de 67 % chez les adultes du même groupe d'âge n'ayant pas d'incapacité.
Près du tiers des adultes en âge de travailler ayant une incapacité plus sévère vit dans la pauvreté

Dans l'ensemble, les personnes avec incapacité affichaient un revenu personnel moins élevé que celles n'ayant pas d'incapacité, et ce revenu variait selon le sexe, la sévérité de l'incapacité, et la situation des particuliers dans le ménage.

Par exemple, la médiane du revenu personnel après impôts des femmes de 25 à 64 ans ayant une incapacité moins sévère était 24 % inférieure à celle du revenu des hommes du même groupe d'âge, et 13 % inférieure à celle du revenu des femmes n'ayant pas d'incapacité.

Chez les adultes en âge de travailler, le revenu personnel était fortement lié à la sévérité de l'incapacité. Les personnes n'ayant pas d'incapacité avaient une médiane du revenu personnel après impôts plus élevée (39 000 $) que celles ayant une incapacité moins sévère (34 300 $) et que celles ayant une incapacité plus sévère (19 200 $).

En outre, chez les adultes en âge de travailler, 28 % de ceux ayant une incapacité plus sévère vivaient au-dessous du seuil officiel de la pauvreté du Canada (qui est déterminé à partir de la Mesure du panier de consommation), comparativement à 14 % de ceux ayant une incapacité moins sévère et à 10 % de ceux n'ayant pas d'incapacité.

Les taux de pauvreté les plus élevés (pour les personnes de 15 à 64 ans) étaient observés chez les personnes ayant une incapacité plus sévère qui vivaient seules ou étaient des parents seuls. Parmi les personnes qui vivaient seules, 6 sur 10 d'entre elles vivaient sous le seuil de la pauvreté. C'était aussi le cas pour 4 parents seuls sur 10. Indépendamment de l'incapacité, 8 parents seuls sur 10 étaient des femmes.

https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/daily-quotidien/181128/dq181128a-fra.htm?HPA=1




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.