NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Mentorship Resources

The resources below are examples that may be helpful in developing mentorship programs to assist students with disabilities in transitioning to PSE.

College/University Resources

  • The Physical, Sensory and Medical Disability Servicesí Peer Mentoring Program at York University is designed to assist first-year students with the transition to University. Students with disabilities are matched with a senior mentor who will help them adjust to university life. For more information visit http://www.yorku.ca/cds/psmds/services.html or contact Physical, Sensory & Medical Disability Services at 416-736-5297
  • As part of the Post-Secondary Accommodations, Supports and Strategies (PASS) Program, a summer transition program for mature students and students with learning disabilities, students at Conestoga College meet with other new students. Students may also be matched with a peer mentor and participate in follow-up workshops during the school year. http://www.conestogac.on.ca/readiness/pass.jsp
  • St. Francis Xavier University has Transition Visits which uses peer mentors and senior students to assist students with the transition to university. To find out more visit http://www.stfx.ca/prospective/accessible_learning/system/



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Programmes de mentorat

Les ressources ci-dessous sont des exemples qui pourraient s’avérer utiles pour établir des programmes de mentorat visant à aider les étudiants handicapés à passer aux études postsecondaires.

Ressources des collèges et universités

  • Le Peer Mentoring Program (Programme de mentorat de pairs) des Physical, Sensory and Medical Disability Services (Services aux étudiants ayant des déficiences physiques, sensorielles et médicales) de l’Université York a été conçu pour aider les étudiants de première année à réussir la transition aux études universitaires. Les étudiants handicapés sont jumelés à un mentor plus expérimenté qui les aidera à s’adapter à la vie universitaire. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site http://www.yorku.ca/cds/psmds/services.html ou communiquez avec les Physical, Sensory & Medical Disability Services au 416 736 5297.
  • Le Collège Conestoga offre un programme d’été visant à faciliter la transition vers les études universitaires. Dans le cadre de ce programme appelé Post-Secondary Accommodations, Supports and Strategies (PASS) Program (Programme des accommodements, des mesures de soutien et des stratégies pour les études postsecondaires), des étudiants adultes et des étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage rencontrent d’autres nouveaux étudiants. Ils peuvent être jumelés à un pair mentor et participer à des ateliers de suivi pendant l’année scolaire. http://www.conestogac.on.ca/readiness/pass.jsp
  • L’Université St. Francis Xavier offre des visites de transition pendant lesquelles des pairs mentors et des étudiants plus avancés aident les nouveaux étudiants à s’adapter à la vie universitaire. Pour en savoir plus long, visitez le site http://www.stfx.ca/prospective/accessible_learning/system/.



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.