NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can I find information about financial assistance to support my post-secondary studies?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Financial Aid Directory

Government Funding Programs in the Yukon Territory

Employability Assistance for People with Disabilities

The Yukon government has not signed an agreement with the Federal government to implement the EAPD program. As such, support specifically to students with disabilities still operates under the terms of the Vocational Rehabilitation for Disabled Persons (VRDP) Program. This program does offer support to students with disabilities to attend post-secondary education. However, it is a small program with a limited budget and students are encouraged to seek other supports, such as student loans.

Student Loan Program

The Yukon Government also offers a number of financial support programs, (note that not all of these are targeted at students with disabilities). These include: Government Funding Programs

  1. Canada Student Loan Program - The Yukon Department of Education administers this program, which includes access to Canada Study Grants for students with disabilities.
  2. Yukon Grant: The Yukon Department of Education also administers this grant, which supports post-secondary education. There are high school and/or residency requirements for obtaining the grant, which is provided for up to 5 years combined with the Student Training Allowance at $1,488 per semester.
  3. Training Allowance: This is available for Yukon residents and it provides support for courses at Yukon College or other approved training courses. Individuals are paid $84 per week and increases weekly depending on the number of dependents the student may have, up to a maximum of 4 dependents. It is worth noting that there are no special funds for students with disabilities in this program, although students with disabilities may apply.
  4. Financial assistance for individuals attending a training or upgrading course -The Yukon Social Assistance program provides support for a maximum of one academic year. The school allowance is $50 per month on top of the regular social assistance benefits. Note that people with disabilities may receive special benefits to cover medical and rehabilitation costs as part of their Social Assistance benefits.

For more information contact:

Student Financial Services
Tel.: 867-667-5929
Toll-free: 1-800-661-0408 Local 5929 (within Yukon)
www.education.gov.yk.ca/advanceded/sfa


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Qu’est-ce que je dois faire pour obtenir des livres en braille, sur audiocassette ou sur disquette?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Répertoire d'aide financière

Programmes provinciaux et territoriaux - Territoire du Yukon

Aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées

Le gouvernement du Yukon n'a pas signé d'entente avec le gouvernement fédéral en ce qui a trait à la mise en œuvre du programme AEPH. Ainsi, le soutien aux étudiant-e-s handicapés est encore offert aux termes du Programme de réadaptation professionnelle des personnes handicapées (RPPH). Ce programme offre un support aux étudiant-e-s handicapés qui veulent fréquenter un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire. Toutefois, il s'agit d'un petit programme doté d'un budget limité et l'on encourage les étudiant-e-s à trouver d'autres sources de financement, comme des prêts étudiants.

Programme de prêts d'études

Le gouvernement du Yukon offre également un certain nombre de programme de soutien financier (qui ne sont pas tous destinés aux étudiant-e-s handicapés). Les voici :

  1. Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants - Le ministère de l'Éducation du Yukon administre ce programme, qui comprend l'accès pour les étudiant-e-s ayant des déficiences au programme Subventions canadiennes pour études.
  2. Yukon Grant - Le ministère de l'Éducation du Yukon administre également ce programme de subventions, qui appuie l'enseignement postsecondaire. Il faut être résident-e du Yukon pour obtenir cette subvention qui peut être accordée jusqu'à concurrence de 5 ans au rythme de 1 240 $ par semestre.
  3. Allocation de formation - cette allocation est offerte aux résident-e-s du Yukon qui suivent des cours au Yukon College ou d'autres cours de formation reconnus. Les étudiant-e-s reçoivent 70 $ par semaine, plus 15 $ par personne à charge jusqu'à concurrence de quatre. Il n'y a pas de fonds spéciaux pour les étudiant-e-s handicapés dans ce programme, mais ceux-ci peuvent présenter une demande.
  4. Aide financière pour les personnes qui suivent un cours de formation ou de recyclage - Le programme Yukon Social Assistance offre une aide pour au plus une année scolaire. L'allocation est de 50 $ par mois et s'ajoute aux prestations d'aide sociale ordinaires. Il faut signaler que les personnes handicapées peuvent recevoir des prestations spéciales pour les frais médicaux et de réadaptation dans le cadre de leurs prestations d'aide sociale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez :

Student Financial Services
Tél. : 867-667-5929
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-661-0408, poste 5929 (au Yukon)
www.education.gov.yk.ca/advanceded/sfa


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.