NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
What funding can I get from the Canada Student Loans Program?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Funding and Scholarship Programs

Northwest Territories Student Financial Assistance

The Northwest Territories Study Grant for Students with Disabilities is designed to assist post-secondary students with permanent disabilities such as deafness, blindness, and other physical or learning disabilities. Funding awarded under this program is available in addition to loans offered to full-time, distance learning and part-time students through the NWT Student Financial Assistance Program (SFA). The Grant is available to all student categories - Northern Indigenous Aboriginal Resident, Northern Resident Schooled in the NWT, and Northern Resident Not Schooled in the NWT.

Based on an assessment of needs, eligible students attending postsecondary studies full-time may receive up to $5,000 per academic year. Students attending post-secondary studies through distance learning, correspondence courses or part-time may receive up to $1,000 per course. If applying as a full-time student, you are required to enroll in at least 40% of a full course load. Qualification under distance learning, correspondence courses or part-time student status requires enrollment in at least 20% of a full course load.

To apply for the NWT Study Grant, check the box indicating NWT Study Grant for Students with Disabilities on the SFA Application(s). Complete the Income and Expense pages, including all educational expenses related to your disability.

Expenses Covered

The NWT Study Grant may be used to cover exceptional expenses such as the cost of a tutor, an interpreter (oral, sign), note taker, transportation, attendant care or special equipment. The Grant will also reimburse students for (up to 75%) of the cost of a learning disabilities assessment (up to $1,000). It is important to keep in mind that the NWT Study Grant may be disbursed up-front. For reimbursement, you will need to submit quotes or receipt(s) (proof of purchase) for your education-related materials. For example if you have a personal care attendant, the program can only provide funding for the costs incurred while you are in school, not for when your attendant provides you with services at home. The Grant will not cover the capital costs such as vehicle modifications and alterations for educational institutions or student residences.

Expenses Exceeding that of the NWT Study Grant Limit

If your needs exceed the NWT Study Grant for Students with Disabilities, you can also receive funding under the Repayable Loan. When you apply for SFA, applicants complete the Income and Expense pages of the SFA application(s) forms and include all expenses related to the disability. If your needs are more than the NWT Study Grant of $5,000 per academic year, you may be eligible to receive up to an additional $1,100 a month in the form of a Repayable Loan.

For more information on the Study Grant or Student Financial Assistance Program, contact:

Manager, Student Financial Assistance
Department of Education, Culture and Employment
Government of the North West Territories
Box 1320, Yellowknife, NWT X1A 2L2
Tel: (403) 873-7190
Tel: (800) 661-0793 (No TTY number was available)
Fax: (867) 873-0336
Email: nwtsfa@gov.nt.ca
Web site: www.nwtsfa.gov.nt.ca

For information on scholarships and other funding available to Northwest Territories student with disabilities should contact:

The Northwest Territories Council for Persons With Disabilities
Box 1387
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, X1A 2P1
Tel: (867) 873-8230
TTY: (867) 920-2674
Fax: (867) 873-4124
Email: disabilitynwt@yk.com


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que le conseiller d’orientation de mon école secondaire peut m’aider à choisir un collège ou une université qui pourra répondre aux besoins particuliers liés à ma déficience tout en offrant des programmes de la qualité requise dans le domaine de mon choix?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Aller de l'avant

Programmes d'aide financière et de bourses d'études

Programme d'aide financière aux étudiant-e-s des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

La subvention Northwest Territories Study Grant for Student with Disabilities vise à aider les étudiant-e-s de niveau postsecondaire ayant une déficience permanente telle que la surdité, la cécité; et d'autres déficiences physiques ou troubles d'apprentissage. Cette aide est versée en plus des prêts offerts aux étudiant-e-s à temps plein, à temps partiel et ceux de la formation à distance par le biais du programme d'aide financières des T.N.-O. (NWT Student Financial Assistance (SFA) Program). La subvention est offerte à toutes les catégories d'étudiant-e-s - les résidents autochtones, les résidents scolarisés et non scolarisés du Nord des Territoires.

En fonction d'une évaluation des besoins, les étudiant-e-s admissibles fréquentant un établissement scolaire à temps plein peuvent obtenir jusqu'à un maximum de 5000 $ par année d'études. Les étudiant-e-s inscrits à des études postsecondaires par le biais de la formation à distance, de cours par correspondance et à temps partiel ont droit à un maximum de 1000 $ par cours. Si vous faites une demande en tant qu'étudiant-e à temps plein, vous devez être inscrit à un minimum de 40 % des cours d'un programme complet. Les critères d'admissibilité pour les étudiant-e-s de la formation à distance, des cours par correspondance ou à temps partiel sont d'au moins 20 % d'un programme complet.

Pour faire une demande de subvention, vous n'avez qu'à cocher la case indiquant NWT Study Grant for Students with Disabilities figurant sur formulaire de demande du programme d'aide financière (SFA). Vous devez également remplir les sections relatives au revenu et dépenses, dont les dépenses d'études reliées à la déficience.

Dépenses admissibles

La subvention peut être utilisée pour couvrir des dépenses exceptionnelles comme le coût des services d'un tuteur, d'un interprète (oral ou de langage signé), de preneur de notes, de transport, de préposé aux soins ou d'équipement spécialisé. La subvention prévoit le remboursement des frais (jusqu'à concurrence de 75 %) relatifs à une évaluation des troubles d'apprentissage (maximum de 1000 $). Il est important de noter que la subvention peut être versée immédiatement. Pour le remboursement, vous devrez présenter des estimations ou des reçus (preuves d'achat) pour le matériel d'études relié à votre déficience. Dans le cas des services de préposé aux soins, par exemple, l'aide financière n'est accordée que pour les services offerts pendant les heures de cours et non ceux fournis au domicile. La subvention ne couvre pas les coûts d'immobilisation comme les frais liés à la modification d'un véhicule, d'un établissement ou d'une résidence étudiante.

Dépenses excédant la limite permise par la subvention NWT Study Grant

Si vos besoins dépassent le montant de la subvention accordée aux étudiant?e?s handicapés (NWT Study Grant for Students with Disabilities), il est possible d'obtenir une aide financière sous forme de prêt remboursable. Lorsque vous faites une demande au programme d'aide financière, veuillez remplir les sections relatives au revenu et aux dépenses du formulaire et joindre une description de toutes vos dépenses reliées à votre déficience. Si vos besoins financiers dépassent la limite annuelle de 5000 $ à laquelle vous pourriez être admissible en vertu de la subvention NWT Study Grant, vous pourriez obtenir un montant supplémentaire de 1100 $ par mois sous forme de prêt remboursable.

Pour plus d'information sur le programme de subvention ou celui de l'aide financière :

Manager, Student Financial Assistance
Department of Education, Culture and Employment
Government of the North West Territories
Box 1320, Yellowknife (T.N-O.) X1A 2L2
Tél. : (403) 873-7190
Tél. : 1-800-661-0793 (Nota: pas de ATS disponible)
Téléc. : (867) 873-0336
Courriel: nwtsfa@gov.nt.ca
Site Web: www.nwtsfa.gov.nt.ca

Pour plus d'information sur les bourses et l'aide financière disponibles aux étudiant-e-s handicapés des Territoires du Nord-Ouest :

Northwest Territories Council For Disabled Persons
Box 1387, Yellowknife (T.N.-O.) X1A 2P1
Tél. : (867) 873-8230
ATS : (867) 920-2674
Téléc. : (867) 873-4124
Courriel : disabilitynwt@yk.com


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.