NEADS Student Awards Program and Holly Bartlett Memorial Award winners announced!

(Ottawa, December 17, 2013) - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), and our funding partners Enbridge Liquids Pipelines, Scotiabank, Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services and three private donors are pleased to announce the 6 outstanding winners of the 2013 NEADS Students Awards Program and The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award.  Five winners will receive $3,000 and the recipient of the Holly Bartlett award will receive $1,000 in support of their tuition and student fees.

The recipients of the awards are:

Ella Bowles, Evolutionary Genomics, Doctorate, University of Calgary

Blair DeBaie, Business Administration, Nova Scotia Community College

Nicole Dinn, Bachelor of Arts (Psychology), Queen’s University

Lisa Hislop, Bachelor of Business Administration, Cape Breton University

Kaley Roosen, Clinical Psychology, PhD candidate, York University

Rosalyn Tyrer, Bachelor of Early Childhood Education (Honours), Brock University (Holly Bartlett Award recipient)

"Congratulations to the 2013 winners,” said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS Senior Advisor and Chair of the selection committee. "We received over 450 applications for this year's competition. Choosing the winners was an extremely difficult process. The achievements and perseverance of all candidates was just incredible. The dedication and success of this year's winners truly embodies the spirit of the two programs. We wish the winners all the very best in their studies, and look forward to watching their success in the future. We are grateful to our corporate supporters of this year's program: Enbridge Liquids Pipelines, Scotiabank and Industrial Alliance and Financial Services and three generous private donors.”


For further information contact:

Frank Smith, National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201


"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"