Scotiabank and Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services support NEADS Student Awards Program

(Ottawa, March 23, 2012)  The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is pleased to announce that we have received funding support for two additional student awards for the NEADS National Student Awards Program. Scotiabank and Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services will each support one $3,000 Student Award this year. Scotiabank's support is for a total of $3,600. We are grateful for this additional funding as we will now be able to offer nine Student Awards and one Holly Bartlett Memorial Award.

The NEADS National Student Awards and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award are offered by NEADS as a core program. These awards encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities enrolled in undergraduate, graduate or professional degree programs at recognized Canadian universities, or in certified diploma programs at Canadian colleges. Nine outstanding applicants, who meet the criteria of the Student Awards Program, will be receiving an award in the amount of $3,000 to support the costs of their tuition and student fees. One deserving applicant will receive the new Holly Bartlett Memorial Award in the amount of $1,000.

"We are very proud of the NEADS Student Awards Program, and our 45 recipients over its first five years," said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS' Senior Advisor and the director of the student awards program. "This program is the first of its kind in Canada, and was created to recognize overall excellence among students with disabilities in all aspects of post-secondary education. Our winners to date all embody the very best qualities of academic and community involvement. We hope that the program continues to grow, and we look forward to this year's crop of outstanding applicants." Sponsors of the program currently include: Scotiabank, Industrial Alliance Insurance, Enbridge and BMO Capital Markets.

"Holly Bartlett was loved by all who knew her", said Frank Smith, NEADS' National Coordinator. "It was my privilege and pleasure to work with Holly while she served on our Board of Directors. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. We believe that she should be honoured and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a fitting tribute because it will help other students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the second year for the Award in Holly's memory."

For more information, please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 380-8065, or go directly to our Equity Through Education Student Awards website: