Announcing the NEADS Board of Directors for 2017-2020

(Ottawa, February 15, 2017)  We are thrilled to announce the Board of Directors for 2017-2020 of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)! Applications received over the last several weeks have filled 14 seats on the board. It’s such a talented group, with significant post-secondary and community experience. The following directors will serve for three years.
Tayler Glaspey, British Columbia Director, Special Education Teacher Assistant Certificate; currently in 2nd year Sociology and Political Science, Kwantlen Polytechnic University 
Desi-Rae Dionne, Alberta Director, enrolled in a Master of Arts in Counselling at Providence University
Jacqueline Rennebohm, Saskatchewan Director, Environmental-Health, Multi-Disciplinary Degree, Western University
Alan Bridgeman, Manitoba Director, pursuing a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) at the University of Manitoba
Roxana Jahani Aval, Ontario Director, enrolled in a Bachelor of Arts Degree program with Honours (Psychology), York University
Laurence Perreault-Rousseau, Directrice Québec; Directrice de L’association québécoise des étudiants ayant des incapacités au postsecondaire (AQEIPS), Bachelière en études théâtrales à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM).
Christine Bezanson, Vice-Chair, New Brunswick Director, Bachelor of Arts (Anthropology), University of New Brunswick
Maggie Lyons-MacFarlane, Nova Scotia Director, Bachelor of Arts (Major in Sociology), University of New Brunswick; Master of Arts in Education in progress, Mount Saint Vincent University
Antonia Francis, Director at Large, completing an undergraduate Bachelor degree program, Memorial University
Kathleen White, Newfoundland and Labrador Director, third year Bachelor of Nursing at Memorial University of Newfoundland, School of Nursing with a minor in Law and Society
Nicole Gibson, Secretary, Director at Large, Bachelor of Art, Sociology, Police Studies, Law and Society, Memorial University; Criminology Certificate, Memorial University; Bachelor of Social Work, University of Victoria (in progress)
Emily Duffett, Chair, Director at Large, Masters of Arts in Sociology from Acadia University
Jewelles Smith, Director at Large, pursuing a PhD in an interdisciplinary program, University of British Columbia (UBC) Okanagan campus (Chair, Council of Canadians With Disabilities (CCD))
Ainsley Latour, Director at Large, in Genetics Technology, the Michener Institute at UHN, with a previous Masters (molecular ecology) Memorial University of Newfoundland
NEADS’ provincial board members and directors-at-large represent their provincial jurisdiction on the Board, as well as to bring local issues to the national table. Board members may participate in local, regional and provincial committees and activities, within the framework provided by NEADS’ mandate and mission. 
Since its founding in 1986, the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) has had the mandate to support full access to education and employment for post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities across Canada. 
For Further Information:
Frank Smith,
National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 514 Unicentre,
Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201   
"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"