NEADS Membership Report 2010-2012

2011 Scholarship Recipients

NEADS and BMO Capital Markets Announce Winners of Equity Through Education

Ottawa, October 4, 2011 - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) and BMO Capital Markets are pleased to announce the 12 outstanding winners of the 2011 NEADS Equity Through Education Student Awards Program. All recipients receive $3,000 for tuition and student fees.

The winners are:

  • Futsum Abbay (Doctoral student, Law, McGill University)
  • Jillian Arkles (Undergraduate student, Arts, University of Toronto)
  • Raquel Baldwinson (Undergraduate student, English, University of British Columbia)
  • Amanda Bertoldi (Masters student, Teaching, University of Toronto)
  • Elizabeth Cawley (Masters student, Science, McGill University)
  • Rebecca Donaldson (Diploma student, Justice Studies, Bow Valley College)
  • Andrew Ferrier (Doctoral student, Neuroscience/Cellular and Molecular Medicine, University of Ottawa)
  • Benjamin Horne (Undergraduate student, Industrial Engineering, Dalhousie University)
  • Carolann Maynard (Diploma student, Practical Nursing, Mohawk College)
  • Chelsea Mohler (Masters student, Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, University of Western Ontario)
  • Carrie Moffatt (Undergraduate student, Law, University of Victoria)
  • Ingrid Wirth (Undergraduate student, Science, University of Saskatchewan)

“Congratulations to the 2011 winners of the NEADS Equity Through Education Student Awards,” said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS Past-President and Chair of the selection committee. “We received over 300 excellent applications for this year's competition. Choosing the winners was a difficult process – the achievements and perseverance of many of our candidates was just incredible. The dedication and success of this year's winners truly embodies the spirit of the Awards program. We wish the winners all the very best in their studies, and look forward to watching their successes in the future. We are grateful to BMO Capital Markets for its generous funding of the Equity Through Education Student Awards.”

“We are proud to congratulate this year’s 12 outstanding student award winners,” said Mike Miller, Head of Equity Products, BMO Capital Markets and a champion of the Equity Through Education Program. “We admire your achievements and hope that they will inspire others.”

NEADS Announces the winner of the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award

Ottawa, October 4, 2011 - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) and the family of the late Holly Bartlett are thrilled to announce the winner of the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award. Raquel Baldwinson, an undergraduate English student at the University of British Columbia (UBC), is the recipient of the bursary in the amount of $1,000. The award, which will be paid to UBC, will cover some of Raquel’s costs related to tuition and student fees.

“We are so grateful that NEADS has established this award in honour of Holly. To know that others will be awarded for their responsibility towards selfreliance and education ensures that Holly’s legacy lives on,” said the Bartlett family. “Holly was ever convinced she could complete any obstacle and outrun any challenge. It is our family’s hope that the well-deserved recipients continue their commitment in working towards a better tomorrow for not only themselves, but for their community. Her spirit will forever live on in the phenomenal work of these recipients. We are so very thankful and proud.”

“Holly Bartlett was loved by all who knew her”, said Frank Smith, NEADS’ National Coordinator. “It was my privilege and pleasure to work with Holly while she served on our Board of Directors. Holly’s accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. We believe that she should be honoured and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a fitting tribute because it will help other students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. I congratulate Raquel Baldwinson for her outstanding achievements and for being recognized as the first recipient of the Award in Holly’s memory.”