CCD Awards: NEADS board members recognized for outstanding service!

I would like to inform all NEADS members, and our partner schools/organizations, that the 1999/2000 Council of Canadians With Disabilities (CCD) Awards were announced at the CCD meeting in Winnipeg on June 10th. Each year, the Council presents awards to deserving representatives of its member groups. Joby Fleming, NEADS' President and Jennison Asuncion, NEADS' Vice-President Internal were recognized at the meeting from our Association for their outstanding service to the Canadian disability community.

Joby has served as President of NEADS and the Newfoundland representative since 1998. He has actively represented the Association nationally and in his province. Most recently, Joby Fleming was elected President of M.U.N. DISC (Disability Information Support Centre), the disabled students' association at Memorial University of Newfoundland. A leader on many of our project advisory groups, Joby helped to organize a successful forum on student leadership in St. John's last October.

Jennison has been a member of the NEADS board since 1996 and has served on our executive directors and as "Open Representative". He manages our web site ( and is a founder and co-moderator of our listserv, NEADS-L. Jennison Asuncion is the Chairperson of our 2000 Conference Planning Committee, served as an advisor to the National Approach to Services Project, and is a research associate on the Adaptech Project at Dawson College.

Susan Vida, NEADS' Quebec Representative and our member on the CCD national council, presented the awards -- two beautiful plaques -- to Joby and Jennison during the NEADS board of directors meeting in Ottawa on June 24th. Congratulations Joby and Jennison! Many thanks for your hard work and dedication to the issues of post-secondary students with disabilities.

Frank Smith, National Coordinator, NEADS.