NEADS Executive Directors and CCD Award Winners

Last weekend the Association held a board of directors meeting in Ottawa. Members of the board selected its executive directors on Sunday, June 22nd. I'm very pleased to report that the following outstanding representatives will serve on the executive until November, 2004:

  • Rachael Ross, President (British Columbia Representative)
  • Jennifer Finlay, Vice-President Internal (Nova Scotia Representative)
  • Sanjeet Singh, Vice-President External (Open Representative)
  • Alison Beattie, Secretary/Treasurer (Alberta Representative)

The NEADS recipients of the 2003 Council of Canadians With Disabilities (CCD) Award were also announced last weekend by Jason Mitschele, NEADS' Council rep. The winners are Rachael Ross and Susan Vida! Rachael and Susan have been recognized by CCD for their "valued contribution to the disability rights movement in Canada."

Susan Vida served the NEADS board of directors for two terms as our Quebec Representative and Vice-President External. She was our representative on the CCD national council and has worked closely with our Quebec member group the Association québécoise des étudiants ayant des incapacités au postsecondaire (AQEIPS) to build a strong partnership. As part of her work on the CCD national council, Susan was a champion of issues facing youth with disabilities. Susan demonstrated great leadership in so many areas during her time with NEADS. We wish her well in future endeavours.

Rachael Ross, who is our newly elected President, has served the board as its British Columbia Representative since 2000. This is her second CCD Award. Rachael has represented NEADS as an expert speaker at many conferences and meetings. She hosted highly successful Student Leadership and Employment Forums in Victoria (2002) and Vancouver (2003) and was a member of our 2002 national conference planning committee. Rachael has also served as a NEADS liaison to the Canadian Federation of Students. A Sociology major at the University of Victoria, Rachael has worked extensively on many issues including poverty, gender equality and access to education.

Congratulations to members of our new executive and the CCD Award winners!

Frank Smith, National Coordinator