Canadian Disability Studies Association announces applications for 2019 Tanis Doe Award

Tanis Doe Award -

2019 Tanis Doe Award for Canadian Disability Study and Culture -

16th Annual Conference of the
Canadian Disability Studies Association
Association canadienne d’études sur le handicap
June 1-3, 2019
University of British Columbia
Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences

The CDSA-ACÉH Tanis Doe Award for Canadian Disability Study and Culture was first awarded in 2009, and is named for the activist and professor, Tanis Doe, who passed away in 2004. This award honours an individual who dares to “speak the unspeakable” in advancing the study and culture of disability, and who has enriched through research, teaching, or activism, the lives of Canadians with disabilities. CDSA-ACÉH is grateful for the support and permission of Tanis’s family to honour her achievements in Disability Studies with this award.

To be nominated the nominee must be either a Canadian or a Permanent Resident who works in Canada. Any individual can submit a nomination, but an individual may only submit one nomination in any award-cycle year. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Letters of Nomination should be 1 to 3 pages in length and include:

Name, affiliation, phone number, complete mailing address, and email address of the nominee.
Name and contact information for the person making the nomination.
The research, teaching, art, service or advocacy achievement or achievements of the nominee that merit consideration for this award.
A brief biographical sketch of the nominee.

Please send your nominations to The deadline for nominations is March 1st, 2019.

Please note: Nominations will be adjudicated on the following criteria:

research and connection to disability justice and scholarship
teaching and scholarship in disability studies and related areas
engagement in advancement of equity and disability justice
achievement within disability studies communities or disability justice movements

The winner of the 2019 Tanis Doe Award will be acknowledged at the 2019 CDSA-ACÉH conference and will receive:

2019 CDSA-ACÉH Conference registration fee (applicable only if the recipient attends the conference) and an invitation to present at the conference
Membership in CDSA-ACÉH for 2019-2020
Invitation to submit a paper to peer-review for the Canadian Journal of Disability Studies for possible publication in the journal
Invitation to write an article for the CDSA-ACÉH Newsletter

About Tanis Doe

Tanis Doe did innovative work on participatory action research, disability, abuse, women, employment, assistive technology, and advocacy. She was a professor of social work and disability studies at the University of Victoria, and also taught at Royal Roads University, Ryerson University, and the University of Washington. She was a 2003 Fulbright Scholar in Bioethics at the University of Washington. She conducted research for innumerable organizations in both Canada and the United States, and consulted with organizations around the world.

As a Métis (Ojibway/French Canadian) Deaf woman with other disabilities who was active in disability, queer, and feminist movements internationally, Tanis Doe was widely respected as a disability rights advocate and as an educator that provided leadership training and personal mentorship to untold numbers of scholars and advocates across the Western Hemisphere.

In Tanis’s words, “Some of us have become visible citizens of that other place, using our bodies as our passports. People with disabilities are frightening to the non-disabled because our citizenship is made clear. In and with our bodies, we testify to both the existence and proximity of that Otherland.”

Past Award Recipients

2018: Esther Ignagni, Ryerson University
2017: Gregor Wolbring, University of Calgary
2016: Shelley Tremain, non-affiliated
2015: Patricia Seth and Marie Slark, non-affiliated
2014: Tanya Titchkosky, University of Toronto
2013: Marcia Rioux, York University
2012: Roy Hanes, Carleton University
2011: Jerome Bickenbach, Queens University
2010: Heidi Janz, University of Alberta
2009: Diane Driedger, University of Manitoba/Independent Living Canada

Francophone Tanis Doe Award

2017: Normand Boucher, Université Laval
2016: Laurence Parent, Concordia University
2015: Patrick Fougeyrollas, l’Université Laval