NEADS Accepting Applications for National Student Awards/Holly Bartlett Memorial Award/AMI Scholarships/Christine Nieder Memorial Award: Deadline May 10th

(Ottawa, February 27th, 2019) –

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is now accepting applications for the NEADS National Student Awards Program, the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award and the NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Awards, and Accessible Media Inc.’s AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship. These awards are offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities enrolled in undergraduate, graduate or professional degree programs at recognized Canadian universities, or in certified diploma programs at Canadian colleges. Two outstanding applicants (one English, one French) who meet eligibility criteria will be eligible for $5,000 each available from the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship. A to be determined number of students who meet the criteria of the NEADS Student Awards Program, will be receiving an award in the amount of $3,000 to support the costs of their tuition and student fees. One or more eligible and outstanding applicant(s) will receive the Holly Bartlett and Christine Nieder Memorial Awards, in the amount of $1,000. The exact number of scholarships awarded will be subject to the amount of funding received.

"We are very proud of the NEADS Student Awards Program, entering our 12th year of the program with over 100 recipients," said Lauren Gravis, Director of the NEADS Student Awards program. "These programs are the first of their kind in that they are pan-Canadian and cross-disability, and were created to recognize overall excellence among students with disabilities in all aspects of post-secondary education. Past recipients are exemplary in what it means to address barriers and self-advocate for themselves and those around them in a way that is really transformative. We celebrate the program’s ongoing success, and we look forward to this year's crop of outstanding applicants."

Formerly known as the AMI Scholarship, the award has been renamed the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship in honour of the organization’s Accessibility Officer who passed away in December, 2015. Robert Pearson was a long-time employee of AMI and fervent supporter of accessibility in Canada and around the world. “Renaming the AMI Scholarship in Robert’s memory ensures that his hard work lives on and forever reminds us of his commitment to accessibility and creating a more inclusive society,” explains Peter Burke, AMI Vice-President of Marketing and Communications. “The Scholarship program was created to further strengthen the organization’s commitment to making accessible media for all Canadians; a role that Robert embraced with great passion and enthusiasm. He was an inspiration to all of us.” Entering its 8th year, the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship program offers much needed financial assistance to students with a disability. In 2019, AMI will once again collaborate with the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) to administer the program and engage students with disabilities from across the country. Two $5,000 bursaries will be awarded to two deserving students with a permanent disability; one from the English community and one from the French.

Apply for all programs through the NEADS website until May 10, 2019:

For more information:

Frank Smith
National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 514 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6