NEADS Membership Report 2010-2012

Scholarship Program

NEADS National Student Awards Program and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award:

NEADS runs two scholarship programs: the $3,000 NEADS National Student Awards Program and the $1,000 Holly Bartlett Memorial Award. These programs support students with disabilities in undergraduate university, graduate university and college and cégep level programs.

These awards provide funding to students in all fields of study and are the only programs of their kind in Canada that recognize the academic and community achievements of post-secondary students with disabilities. The National Student Awards Program, currently in its seventh year, has received more than 1,000 applications, and has awarded 56 scholarships to date to outstanding applicants.

The NEADS National Student Awards Program supports students, who often need additional financial assistance to be successful in their studies due in part to accommodating their needs in the campus setting. The scholarships in the NEADS National Student Awards Program are valued at $3,000 each, and are tuition awards, payable directly to the student’s school. The program has been generously supported by private sector funders including: BMO Capital Markets, Enbridge, Scotia Bank and Industrial Alliance.

The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award was established in memory of a former NEADS board member Holly Bartlett, who passed away in March, 2010. The award was created the following year and is a $1,000 scholarship awarded each year by the Association, with the same criteria as the NEADS Student Awards Program.

Further information on these programs is available at